Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Prohibited Firearms

Individuals who possess or wish to acquire a prohibited firearm should consult this information regarding the legal requirements under the Firearms Act.

Definition of a prohibited firearm

According to the Criminal Code, a prohibited firearm is:

  1. a handgun that
    • has a barrel equal to or less than 105 mm in length, or
    • is designed or adapted to discharge a 25 or 32 calibre cartridge, but does not include any such handgun that is prescribed, where the handgun is for use in international sporting competitions governed by the rules of the International Shooting Union,
  2. a firearm that is adapted from a rifle or shotgun, whether by sawing, cutting or any other alteration, and that, as so adapted,
    • is less than 660 mm in length, or
    • is 660 mm or greater in length and has a barrel less than 457 mm in length,
  3. an automatic firearm, whether or not it has been altered to discharge only one projectile with one pressure of the trigger, or
  4. any firearm that is prescribed to be a prohibited firearm

Summary of key requirements

Individuals are allowed to possess certain prohibited firearms if they had one registered in their name when it became prohibited, and they have continuously held a valid registration certificate for that type of prohibited firearm from December 1, 1998, onward. The Firearms Act refers to this as being "grandfathered".

"Grandfather" status

A Possession and Acquisition Licence (PAL) allows an individual to acquire only prohibited firearms in the same categories as the ones currently registered to them, and only if the firearms they wish to acquire were registered in Canada on December 1, 1998.

As a general rule, a PAL will indicate what prohibited firearms the licence holder is licensed to acquire by showing the section of the Firearms Act that grandfathers them, as follows:

  • s.12(2): full automatics
  • s.12(3): converted automatics
  • s.12(4): firearms prohibited by former prohibition order No. 12
  • s.12(5): firearms prohibited by former prohibition order No. 13
  • s.12(6): handguns with a barrel length of 105 mm or less or that discharge .25 or .32 calibre ammunition. On licences issued on or after April 10, 2005, these firearms will be referred to as 12(6.1) firearms.

Eligibility to acquire a particular prohibited firearm will be confirmed during the transfer process. Grandfathered status allows the possession and acquisition of prohibited firearms that are already registered in Canada, but not the new importation of prohibited firearms into Canada.

Maintaining grandfathered privileges

To stay grandfathered for a particular category of prohibited firearm, an individual must have continuously held a registration certificate for a firearm in that category from December 1, 1998, onward. To be able to hold a registration certificate for a firearm, an individual needs a licence allowing them to possess that class of firearm. It is therefore essential that firearms licences be renewed before they expire.

All registration certificates issued under the former law (prior to December 1, 1998) expired on December 31, 2002, so it was important to have re-registered the firearm(s) under the Firearms Act before the old certificate expired. Contact the CFP for more information or assistance.

Exception to grandfathering

If a person is not grandfathered, the only prohibited firearms they may possess or acquire are handguns with a barrel length of 105 mm or less or that discharge .25 or .32 calibre ammunition, and only if all of the following criteria are met:

  • the handgun was made before 1946, and
  • the handgun was registered in Canada on December 1, 1998, and
  • the individual is the child, grandchild, brother, sister or spouse of the lawful owner, and
  • the individual is acquiring it for an approved purpose such as target shooting or as part of a collection.

Under these circumstances, the individual can lawfully acquire and possess the handgun in question, but they are not grandfathered or authorized to acquire more prohibited handguns.

Selling, giving, or lending

An individual can lend a prohibited firearm to anyone with a valid Possession Only Licence (POL) or PAL which authorizes them to possess that particular category of prohibited firearm. If they lend the prohibited firearm, they must lend the registration certificate as well.

They may sell or give a prohibited firearm only to someone with a PAL valid for that category of firearm. When the prohibited firearm changes owners, it must be registered to the new owner. This can be done by calling the CFP or by submitting form RCMP 5492.

Transporting prohibited firearms

All firearms must be unloaded and transported safely to deter loss, theft and accidents. Before transporting a prohibited firearm, it is necessary to obtain an Authorization to Transport (ATT) from the Chief Firearms Officer (CFO) of the province or territory in which the firearm is located. Call the CFP to apply for an ATT or submit form RCMP 5490 and mail or fax it to the relevant CFO.

Firearms must be transported in accordance with the Storage, Display, Transportation and Handling of Firearms by Individuals Regulations. Prohibited handguns may be shipped between two locations in Canada, using the most secure method offered by Canada Post which requires a signature upon delivery. Alternatively, it may be shipped by a carrier company licensed to transport that class of firearm.

For more information on which firearms are restricted or prohibited, please also consult the Criminal Code and the Regulations Prescribing Certain Firearms and other Weapons, Components and Parts of Weapons, Accessories, Cartridge Magazines, Ammunition and Projectiles as Prohibited or Restricted.

Information

For more information, contact the CFP.

This fact sheet is intended to provide general information only. For legal references, please refer to the Criminal Code and the Firearms Act and their corresponding regulations. Provincial, territorial and municipal laws, regulations and policies may also apply.

To read Adobe Acrobat (PDF) files, you may need to download and install the free Adobe Reader available from Adobe Systems Incorporated.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Armes feu prohibes

La personne qui possède ou compte acquérir une arme à feu prohibée devrait consulter ce feuillet d'information pour prendre connaissance des exigences juridiques prévues par la Loi sur les armes à feu.

Définition d'une arme à feu prohibée

Une arme à feu prohibée au sens du Code criminel est :

  1. Arme de poing pourvue d'un canon dont la longueur ne dépasse pas 105 mm ou conçue ou adaptée pour tirer des cartouches de calibre 25 ou 32, sauf celle désignée par règlement pour utilisation dans les compétitions sportives internationales régies par les règles de l'Union internationale de tir;
  2. arme à feu sciée, coupée ou modifiée de façon que la longueur du canon soit inférieure à 457 mm ou de façon que la longueur totale de l'arme soit inférieure à 660 mm;
  3. arme automatique, qu'elle ait été ou non modifiée pour ne tirer qu'un seul projectile à chaque pression de la détente;
  4. arme à feu désignée comme telle par règlement.

Aperçu des exigences principales

Une personne peut posséder certaines armes à feu prohibées si vous elle en avait une enregistrée à son nom lorsqu'elle est devenue prohibée et si elle a été titulaire d'un certificat d'enregistrement valide pour ce type d'armes à feu prohibées depuis le 1er décembre 1998, et ce, sans interruption. Ces armes à feu sont visées par la disposition sur les droits acquis de la Loi sur les armes à feu.

Droits acquis

Un permis de possession et d'acquisition (PPA) permet à une personne d'acquérir seulement des armes à feu prohibées des mêmes catégories que celles qui sont actuellement enregistrées à son nom et seulement si les armes à feu qu'elle désire acquérir étaient enregistrées au Canada le 1er décembre 1998.

Généralement, votre PPA précise le numéro du paragraphe de la Loi sur les armes à feu qui correspond au type d'armes à feu prohibées que vous pouvez acquérir :

  • paragraphe.12(2) : armes automatiques
  • paragraphe 12(3) : armes automatiques modifiées
  • paragraphe 12(4) : armes à feu déclarées prohibées sous le régime de la loi antérieure par le décret no 12
  • paragraphe 12(5) : armes à feu déclarées prohibées sous le régime de la loi antérieure par le décret no 13
  • paragraphe 12(6) : armes de poing pourvues d'un canon dont la longueur est égale ou inférieure à 105 mm ou qui tirent des cartouches de calibre 25 ou 32. Sur les permis délivrés le 10 avril 2005 ou après, ces armes à feu seront inscrites comme des armes à feu 12(6.1).

On déterminera si la personne est apte à acquérir une arme à feu prohibée en particulier au moment de la cession. Le statut de particulier avec droits acquis vous permet de posséder et d'acquérir des armes à feu prohibées qui ont déjà été enregistrées au Canada, mais ne vous permet pas d'importer une nouvelle arme à feu prohibée au Canada.

Conservation des droits acquis

Pour conserver ses droits acquis pour une catégorie particulière d'armes à feu prohibées, la personne doit être titulaire d'un certificat d'enregistrement valide pour une arme à feu de cette catégorie, et ce, sans interruption, depuis le 1er décembre 1998. Pour pouvoir être titulaire d'un certificat d'enregistrement d'une arme à feu, il faut un permis valide permettant de posséder cette catégorie d'arme à feu, donc il faut s'assurer de renouveler le permis avant qu'il expire.

Tous les certificats d'enregistrement délivrés sous le régime de la loi antérieure (avant le 1er décembre 1998) sont venus à échéance le 31 décembre 2002; il était donc important de réenregistrer les armes à feu en vertu de la Loi sur les armes à feu avant que l'ancien certificat ne vienne à échéance. Si les armes à feu prohibées n'ont pas été réenregistrées, il faut communiquer avec le PCAF pour obtenir des renseignements ou de l'aide.

Exception aux droits acquis

Si la personne ne bénéficie pas de droits acquis, les seules armes à feu prohibées qu'elle peut acquérir et avoir en sa possession sont des armes de poing pourvues d'un canon dont la longueur est égale ou inférieure à 105 mm ou qui peuvent tirer des cartouches de calibre 25 ou 32, et ce, seulement si toutes les conditions suivantes sont réunies :

  • l'arme de poing a été fabriquée avant 1946, et
  • l'arme de poing était enregistrée au Canada le 1er décembre 1998, et
  • la personne est l'enfant, le petit-fils, la petite-fille, le frère, la sœur ou le conjoint du propriétaire légitime, et
  • la personne acquiert l'arme de poing à des fins approuvées, comme le tir à la cible, ou pour l'ajouter à une collection.

En pareils cas, la personne peut légalement posséder l'arme de poing en question, mais elle ne bénéficie pas de droits acquis lui permettant d'acquérir d'autres armes de poing prohibées.

Vente, don ou prêt

Une personne peut prêter une arme à feu prohibée à toute personne titulaire d'un PPA valide l'autorisant à posséder la catégorie d'armes à feu à laquelle appartient l'arme à feu prohibée en question. Si elle prête son arme à feu prohibée, la personne doit également prêter son certificat d'enregistrement.

Une personne peut vendre ou donner une arme à feu prohibée seulement à une personne titulaire d'un PPA valide pour cette catégorie d'arme à feu. Lorsque l'arme à feu prohibée passe à un autre propriétaire, elle doit être enregistrée au nom du nouveau propriétaire. Pour ce faire, elle peut appeler le PCAF ou présenter le formulaire GRC 5492.

Transport d'armes prohibées

Toutes les armes à feu doivent être transportées non chargées et de façon sécuritaire pour prévenir la perte, le vol et les accidents. Avant de transporter soi-même une arme à feu prohibée, il faut obtenir une autorisation de transport (AT) du contrôleur des armes à feu (CAF) de la province ou du territoire dans laquelle l'arme à feu est située. Pour demander une AT, appeler le PCAF ou remplir le formulaire GRC 5490 qu'il faut envoyer par la poste ou télécopier au contrôleur des armes à feu concerné.

Les armes à feu doivent être transportées conformément au Règlement sur l'entreposage, l'exposition, le transport et le maniement des armes à feu par des particuliers. Les armes de poing prohibées peuvent être expédiées entre deux endroits au Canada en utilisant la méthode la plus sécuritaire offerte par Postes Canada qui nécessite une signature au moment de la livraison. Autrement, elles peuvent être expédiées par une société de transport qui est titulaire d'un permis l'autorisant à transporter cette classe d'armes à feu.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur les types d'armes qui sont à autorisation retreinte ou prohibées, consulter le Code criminel et le Règlement désignant des armes à feu, armes, éléments ou pièces d'armes, accessoires, chargeurs, munitions et projectiles comme étant prohibés ou à autorisation restreinte.

Renseignements

Pour des renseignements supplémentaires, contactez le PCAF.

Cette fiche a pour but de vous fournir des renseignements généraux. Pour des renseignements de nature juridique, veuillez consulter le Code criminel et la Loi sur les armes à feu ainsi que leurs règlements d'application. Les lois, règlements et politiques des provinces et des territoires et les règlements et politiques des municipalités peuvent également s'appliquer.