Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Black Powder Firearms

Individuals possessing or planning to acquire a black powder firearm – whether it is a muzzleloader or a firearm that discharges black powder cartridges – should be aware of requirements that may apply to them under the Firearms Act.

Muzzleloaders made before 1898

All black powder muzzleloaders made before 1898 are considered antique firearms. Antique firearms are exempt from the licence and registration requirements set out in the Firearms Act.

Muzzleloaders made after 1898

All matchlock, flintlock and wheel lock long guns are considered antiques no matter when they were made. Like older firearms of these types, they are exempt from the licence and registration requirements set out in the Firearms Act.

Percussion cap long guns and muzzle-loading black powder handguns made after 1898 are not considered antiques even if they are copies of an earlier antique model. Newer percussion cap long guns are classified as non-restricted firearms; newer handguns, including matchlock, wheel lock and flintlock handguns made after 1898, are classified as restricted if their barrel length is over 105 mm (about 4 inches), or prohibited if their barrel length is 105 mm or less.

It is important to note that there are a lot of reproduction firearms on the market. In addition, some firearms were made over a period of several years spanning the 1898 cut-off date. Individuals possessing or planning to acquire a percussion cap firearm or a muzzle-loading handgun need to know if it was made before or after 1898 in order to know what rules apply.

Firearms that discharge black powder cartridges

A firearm that discharges black powder cartridges might be considered an antique if it was made before 1898, but not necessarily. It would depend on the caliber or gauge. For example, a shotgun that discharges 12 gauge centre-fire cartridges would not be considered an antique no matter how old it is. More information on which ones are antiques  is available by calling 1-800-731-4000.  

Licence and registration requirements

There are no licence and registration requirements for antique firearms. In all other cases, a firearms licence authorizing possession of that class of firearm is required, as well as a registration certificate for each restricted or prohibited firearm in an individual’s possession. Canadian residents can refer to the fact sheet Firearm Owners and Users Aged 18 and Older  to obtain more information. Non-residents can refer to the fact sheet Firearm Users Visiting Canada.

Obtaining ammunition

A firearms licence is required in order to obtain ammunition. As defined in the Criminal Code, “ammunition”  means “a cartridge containing a projectile designed to be discharged from a firearm and, without restricting the generality of the foregoing, includes a caseless cartridge and a shot shell.” The definition does not include loose black powder and shot used in muzzleloaders. Black powder is regulated primarily under the Explosives Act, which is administered by Natural Resources Canada . More information on requirements for the purchase of loose black powder can be obtained through Natural Resources Canada or by consulting the Explosives Act .

Storing and transporting black powder firearms

As set out in regulations supporting the Firearms Act , individuals are required to store and transport all firearms, including antique firearms, safely to deter loss, theft and accidents. All firearms must be unloaded for storage and transportation.

Exception: Black powder muzzleloaders do not have to be unloaded when they are being transported between hunting si tes if their firing cap or flint has been removed.

Information

For more information, contact the CFP.

This fact sheet is intended to provide general information only. For legal references, please refer to the Criminal Code and the Firearms Act and their corresponding regulations. Provincial, territorial and municipal laws, regulations and policies may also apply.

La présente fiche de renseignements est également disponible en français.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Armes feu poudre noire

La personne qui possède ou compte acquérir une arme à feu à poudre noire  –  à chargement par la bouche ou tirant des cartouches de poudre noire – doit connaître les exigences de la Loi sur les armes à feu du Canada qui peuvent s’appliquer dans son cas.

Armes à feu chargement par la bouche fabriquées avant 1898

Toutes les armes à feu à poudre noire à chargement par la bouche fabriquées avant 1898 sont réputées des armes à feu historiques. Les armes à feu historiques ne sont pas visées par les exigences de la Loi sur les armes à feu relatives aux permis et à l’enregistrement.

Armes à feu chargement par la bouche fabriquées 1898

Les armes d’épaule à mèche, à silex ou à rouet sont réputées des armes à feu historiques, peu importe à quelle époque ils ont été fabriqués. Tout comme les armes à feu plus anciennes de ce type, elles sont exemptées des exigences de la Loi sur les armes à feu relatives aux permis et à l’enregistrement.

Les armes d’épaule à percussion et les armes de poing à poudre noire à chargement par la bouche fabriquées après 1898 ne sont pas réputées des armes à feu historiques, même si elles sont des copies d’un modèle historique antérieur. Les armes d’épaule à percussion plus récentes sont réputées des armes à feu sans restriction; les armes de poing plus récentes, notamment les armes de poing à mèche, à silex et à rouet, fabriquées après 1898 sont réputées des armes à feu à autorisation restreinte si la longueur de leur canon est supérieure à 105 mm (environ 4 pouces) ou des armes à feu prohibées si la longueur du canon est de 105 mm ou moins.

Il faut préciser qu’il existe de nombreuses reproductions d’armes à feu sur le marché. De plus, certaines armes à feu ont été fabriquées pendant une période de plusieurs années comprenant la date de référence de 1898. La personne qui possède ou compte acquérir une arme à feu à percussion ou une arme de poing à chargement par la bouche, doit savoir si elle a été fabriquée avant ou après 1898 afin de déterminer quelles sont les règles qui s’appliquent dans son cas. 

Armes à feu qui tirent des cartouches de poudre noire

Une arme à feu qui tire des cartouches de poudre noire peut être réputée une arme à feu historique si elle a été fabriquée avant 1898, mais ce n’est pas nécessairement le cas. Cela dépend du calibre de l’arme à feu. Par exemple, un fusil de chasse à cartouches à percussion centrale de calibre 12 ne sera pas considéré comme une arme à feu historique, peu importe l’époque où il a été fabriqué. Vous pouvez obtenir plus de renseignements sur les armes à feu considérées comme des armes à feu historiques en composant le
1-800-731-4000.  

Exigences relatives aux permis et à l’enregistrement

Il n’y a pas d’exigences relatives aux permis et à l’enregistrement pour les armes à feu historiques. Dans tous les autres cas, il faut être titulaire d’un permis d’armes à feu valide pour la classe de chaque arme à feu en sa possession ainsi que d'un certificat d'enregistrement pour chaque arme à autorisation restreinte ou prohibée également en sa possession. Le résident canadien peut consulter le feuillet d’information « Propriétaires et utilisateurs d’armes à feu de 18 ans et plus » pour plus de renseignements et le non-résident, le feuillet d’information « Utilisateurs d’armes à feu en visite au Canada ».

Obtention de munitions

Pour se procurer des munitions, il faut être titulaire d’un permis d’armes à feu valide. D’après le Code criminel, des munitions sont des « cartouches contenant des projectiles destinés à être tirés par des armes à feu, y compris les cartouches sans douille et les cartouches de chasse ». La définition ne comprend pas la poudre noire libre et les plombs utilisés dans les armes à feu à chargement par la bouche. La poudre noire est principalement réglementée en vertu de la Loi sur les explosifs, qui est appliquée par Ressources naturelles Canada (RNCan). Vous pouvez obtenir des renseignements sur les exigences relatives à l'achat de poudre noire libre en communiquant avec RNCan ou en consultant la Loi sur les explosifs.

Entreposage et transport d’armes à feu à poudre noire

Comme le prévoient les règlements d’application de la Loi sur les armes à feu, il faut entreposer et transporter toutes les armes à feu, y compris les armes à feu historiques, de façon sécuritaire afin d’éviter la perte, le vol et les accidents. Toutes les armes à feu doivent être non chargées pour l’entreposage et le transport.

Exception : Il n’est pas nécessaire de décharger une arme à feu à poudre noire à chargement par la bouche lorsqu’elle est transportée d’un lieu de chasse à un autre si la capsule de mise à feu ou le silex a été retiré.

Renseignements

Pour des renseignements supplémentaires, contactez le PCAF.

Cette fiche a pour but de vous fournir des renseignements généraux. Pour des renseignements de nature juridique, veuillez consulter le Code criminel et la Loi sur les armes à feu ainsi que leurs règlements d’application. Les lois, règlements et politiques des provinces et des territoires et les règlements et politiques des municipalités peuvent également s'appliquer.

This fact sheet is also available in English.