Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Importing Firearms, Firearm Parts and Ammunition

The following information describes requirements under Canada’s Firearms Act for Canadian residents who import firearms, ammunition and firearms parts.

When firearms are imported into Canada from another country, the applicable Canadian laws, as well as laws of the countries where the firearms are coming from or transiting through, must be complied with.

Information on the laws of other countries can be obtained by contacting the authorities in that country or their embassy in Canada.

Importing Firearms

  • An individual cannot bring a prohibited firearm into Canada as a new import, even if he or she is licensed to possess that class of firearm. A prohibited firearm that was temporarily taken out of Canada may be re-imported, providing the individual has the license privilege authorizing possession, as well as a Canadian registration certificate for the firearm.
  • Note: If planning to take a firearm out of Canada, individuals may need an export permit from the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (DFAIT). More information is available from the Export Controls Division of DFAIT at 1-800-267-8376 (toll-free in Canada). Information on applying for an import or an export permit for controlled goods, such as firearms or ammunition, is available on the DFAIT website.
  • In order to bring a restricted or non-restricted firearm into Canada as a new import, an individual must be at least 18 years old and have a Possession and Acquisition Licence (PAL) with the licence privileges for the class of firearm that is being imported. A Possession Only Licence (POL) does not allow individuals to import a newly acquired firearm, though it does allow the re-importation of one that was temporarily taken out of Canada.
  • All firearms must be declared at Canada Customs and the applicable duties and taxes must be paid.  More information on the declaration process is available from the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) Border Information Services telephone service at 1‑800-461-9999 (toll-free from within Canada), or for calls outside of Canada, at 1-204-983-3500 or 1-506-636-5064. CBSA also publishes a guide titled Information on Importing a Firearm or Weapon Into Canada (BSF5044).
  • Before a restricted firearm can be imported into Canada:
    • it must be verified and registered with the Canadian Firearms Program (CFP). Assistance with the verification and registration of a newly imported firearm is available from the CFP at 1-800-731-4000 (Canada and the U.S.) or 1-506-624-5380 (outside Canada and the U.S.).
    • an individual must obtain, in advance, an Authorization to Transport (ATT) from the Chief Firearms Officer (CFO) of the province or territory where they will be entering Canada. A restricted firearm must first be verified and registered with the CFP before the CFO will issue an ATT for it. Individuals can apply for an ATT by contacting the CFP, or by mailing or faxing form RCMP 5490 to the applicable CFO.
  • Firearms that are shipped to an individual in Canada must be handled by a carrier company licensed under the Firearms Act to transport firearms. A list of eligible carrier companies is available here.  
  • Firearms shipped by a licensed carrier must be in a sturdy, non-transparent container that cannot readily be broken into and that is not likely to break open accidentally during transport. To deter theft, there should be no markings on the outside of the container to indicate that there are firearms inside unless the marking is an address. It is generally recommended that an envelope labelled “Customs Documents” be firmly attached to the outside of the container. Any waybills, import permits and export permits can then be put into the envelope.

Importing Firearm Parts and Ammunition

Prohibited ammunition or firearm parts that are classified as prohibited devices, including handgun barrels that are 105 mm or less in length or parts made exclusively for a fully automatic firearm, cannot be imported into Canada.

A valid firearms licence under Canadian law is not required to import non-prohibited firearm parts (except for a frame or receiver). However, an export permit from the other country may be required.

The Explosives Act sets limits on the amount of ammunition and ammunition components that may be imported without an import permit. Generally, the Explosives Act allows individuals to import up to 5,000 cartridges of non-prohibited ammunition for personal use without an import permit. 

More information is available on the website of Natural Resources Canada (NRCan), or by calling the Explosives Regulatory Division of NRCan at the appropriate number listed on their website. An import permit may be required for smaller amounts in order to comply with the laws of the exporting country.

Authorizations to Import

Currently, an import authorization under Canadian law for firearms or firearm parts that are not prohibited is not required. More information on whether one is required by the laws of the country from where the firearm is being exported is available by contacting DFAIT or the country’s embassy in Canada.

Information

For more information, contact the CFP.

This fact sheet is intended to provide general information only. For legal references, please refer to the Criminal Codeand theFirearms Act and their corresponding regulations. Provincial, territorial and municipal laws, regulations and policies may also apply.

La présente fiche de renseignements est également disponible en français.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Importation d'armes à feu, de pièces d'armes à feu et de munitions

Le présent document décrit les exigences selon la Loi sur les armes à feu du Canada qui s'appliquent aux résidents canadiens qui importent des armes à feu, des munitions et des pièces d'armes à feu.

Un particulier qui importe une arme à feu d'un autre pays doit se conformer aux lois canadiennes pertinentes, de même qu'aux lois du pays d'où proviennent les armes à feu et à celles de tout pays par lequel passeront les armes à feu.

Il est possible d'obtenir des renseignements sur les lois d'autres pays en communiquant avec les autorités de ces pays ou avec leur ambassade au Canada.

Importation d'armes à feu

  • Un particulier ne peut pas importer d'arme à feu prohibée au Canada même s'il possède un permis l'autorisant à posséder des armes à feu de cette classe. Il peut cependant réimporter une arme à feu prohibée temporairement sortie du Canada s'il est titulaire d'un permis l'autorisant à posséder cette arme et s'il y a un certificat d'enregistrement canadien pour cette arme.
  • Remarque : Un particulier qui prévoit sortir une arme à feu du Canada peut avoir besoin d'une licence d'exportation des Affaires mondiales Canada (AMC). Des renseignements additionnels peuvent être obtenus en appelant les AMC au 1-800-267-8376 (sans frais au Canada). Des renseignements sur la présentation d'une demande de licence d'importation ou d'exportation de marchandises contrôlées, notamment les armes à feu et les munitions, se trouvent sur le site Web des AMC.
  • Pour pouvoir importer une arme à feu à autorisation restreinte ou sans restriction, un particulier doit être âgé d'au moins 18 ans et être titulaire d'un permis de possession et d'acquisition (PPA) pour la classe de l'arme à feu importée.
  • Toutes les armes à feu doivent être déclarées aux douanes canadiennes, et les droits ou taxes exigibles doivent être payés. Pour en savoir davantage sur le processus de déclaration, on peut consulter le site Web du Service d'information sur la frontière (SIF) de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada et appeler aussi au 1-800-461-9999 (sans frais pour les appels provenant du Canada) ou au 1-204-983-3500 ou au 1-506-636-5064 (pour les appels provenant de l'étranger).
  • Pour qu'une arme à feu à autorisation restreinte puisse être importée au Canada :
    • elle doit faire l'objet d'une vérification et être enregistrée auprès du Programme canadien des armes à feu (PCAF). Le PCAF, qui peut être joint au 1-800-731-4000 (pour les appels provenant du Canada ou des États-Unis) ou au 1-506-624-6626 (pour les appels provenant d'ailleurs que le Canada et les États-Unis), peut fournir de l'aide en ce qui concerne la vérification et l'enregistrement d'une arme à feu à autorisation restreinte nouvellement importée;
    • un particulier doit obtenir, à l'avance, une autorisation de transport (AT) du contrôleur des armes à feu (CAF) de la province ou du territoire d'où il entrera au Canada. Une arme à feu à autorisation restreinte doit d'abord faire l'objet d'une vérification et être enregistrée auprès du PCAF avant que le CAF délivre une autorisation pour son transport. Un particulier peut demander une AT en communiquant avec le PCAF ou encore en envoyant le formulaire GRC 5490 par la poste ou par télécopieur au CAF compétent.
  • Une arme à feu envoyée à un particulier au Canada doit être expédiée par un transporteur titulaire d'un permis pour le transport des armes à feu en vertu de la Loi sur les armes à feu.
  • Les armes à feu expédiées par un transporteur titulaire d'un permis doivent être mises dans un contenant solide et opaque qui ne peut pas être ouvert facilement et qui ne risque pas de s'ouvrir accidentellement pendant le transport. Pour dissuader les voleurs, il ne faut rien inscrire sur le contenant qui puisse indiquer qu'il contient des armes à feu; on peut toutefois inscrire une adresse. Il est habituellement recommandé d'attacher solidement une enveloppe marquée « Documents pour les douanes » sur le dessus du contenant. Les bordereaux d'expédition ou les licences d'importation ou d'exportation peuvent être mis dans cette enveloppe.

Importation de pièces d'armes à feu et de munitions

Les munitions prohibées ou les pièces d'armes à feu définies comme dispositifs prohibés, notamment les canons d'armes de poing d'une longueur de 105 mm ou moins ou les pièces conçues exclusivement pour des armes à feu entièrement automatiques, ne peuvent pas être importées au Canada.

Un permis d'armes à feu valide n'est pas nécessaire pour importer des pièces d'armes à feu non prohibées (sauf pour les carcasses et les boîtes de culasse). Cependant, il se peut qu'une licence d'exportation de l'autre pays soit requise.

La Loi sur les explosifs limite les quantités de munitions et de composantes de munition qui peuvent être importées sans licence d'importation. En règle générale, cette loi permet d'importer sans licence jusqu'à 5 000 cartouches de munitions non prohibées pour usage personnel.

Il est possible d'obtenir de plus amples renseignements en consultant le site Web de Ressources naturelles Canada (RNCan). Une licence peut être requise pour l'importation de quantités inférieures à celles indiquées ci-dessus si les lois du pays exportateur l'exigent.

Autorisations d'importation

À l'heure actuelle, il n'est pas nécessaire de détenir une autorisation d'importation en vertu des lois canadiennes dans le cas d'armes à feu ou de pièces d'armes à feu non prohibées. Pour savoir si une telle autorisation est exigée selon les lois du pays d'où l'arme à feu est exportée, on doit communiquer avec les AMC ou avec l'ambassade du pays au Canada.

Renseignements

Pour des renseignements supplémentaires, contactez le PCAF.

Cette fiche a pour but de vous fournir des renseignements généraux. Pour des renseignements de nature juridique, veuillez consulter le Code criminel et la Loi sur les armes à feu ainsi que leurs règlements d'application. Les lois, règlements et politiques des provinces et des territoires et les règlements et politiques des municipalités peuvent également s'appliquer.