Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Firearms Businesses (including museums)

This fact sheet provides information about requirements under Canada's Firearms Act and corresponding regulations for firearms businesses, including museums. This information also applies to any private-sector organization that possesses firearms.

Licence Requirements

A business, museum or organization requires a firearms business licence to possess, manufacture or sell ammunition, firearms, restricted or prohibited weapons, or prohibited devices. A separate business licence is required for each location where the business operates.

A business licence is valid only for the activities specified on the licence. A business may possess prohibited items only for one of the specified purposes set out in section 22 of the Firearms Licences Regulations.

To apply for a firearms business licence, form RCMP 5486 must be submitted. This form can be obtained from the Chief Firearms Officer (CFO) of a province or territory by calling 1-800-731-4000.

To be eligible for a firearms business licence, a business must meet the following requirements:

  • All employees who handle firearms for employment purposes must have a valid Possession and Acquisition Licence (PAL):
    • If the business possesses non-restricted firearms, but no other class of firearms, then employees are required to hold a licence to acquire non-restricted firearms;
    • Employees must be licensed to acquire restricted firearms if the business possesses restricted or prohibited firearms.
  • Employees do not need a firearms licence if the business has restricted or prohibited weapons, prohibited devices or prohibited ammunition but no firearms. However, they need to be eligible for a firearms licence. In other words, although they do not have to submit a licence application, they must be able to pass a background check and there can be no court orders prohibiting them from possessing firearms or other regulated items.
  • Certain people connected to the business will also need to be eligible for a licence. These include:
    • Owners and partners;
    • Directors and officers of the corporation if the business is a corporation;
    • Persons in a relationship to any of the above if they have a direct influence on the business or could have access to firearms held by the business.

The CFO may attach conditions at his or her discretion.

Registration Requirements

All restricted or prohibited firearms in a business' inventory, including frames and receivers that have not yet been assembled as complete firearms, need to be registered. Restricted or prohibited firearms that are acquired from a Canadian source will be registered to the business during the transfer process (see below). To register newly imported restricted or prohibited firearms or firearms manufactured by the business, form RCMP 5489 must be submitted. This form can be downloaded from the Canadian Firearms Program (CFP) web site or obtained by calling 1-800-731-4000.

There are no registration or transfer fees.

Firearms Verification

Restricted or prohibited firearms must be verified by an approved verifier if:

  • they are being registered for the first time; or
  • they are being transferred to a new owner and have not previously been verified; or
  • they have been modified so that their description has changed; or
  • the Registrar requests that they be verified to confirm their description or classification.

Licensed firearms businesses will need to have an approved verifier on staff for inventory that needs to be verified. A business can arrange to have an employee trained and approved as a verifier by calling 1-800-731-4000.

Transferring Firearms

Whenever a restricted or prohibited firearm changes ownership, the registration records need to be updated and the firearm needs to be registered to the new owner. Both parties need to be involved in the transfer process. Any of the following methods can be used to request the transfer of a restricted or prohibited firearm to or from a business:

  • by using the CFP's online transfer service;
  • by calling 1-800-731-4000;
  • by submitting a paper application (form RCMP 5492 for restricted and prohibited firearms).

The online method is generally the fastest and easiest. Businesses will need to obtain a Business Identification Number (BIN) from their CFO to be able to use the online services.

Safe Storage, Display and Transportation

Businesses must comply with the Storage, Display and Transportation of Firearms and Other Weapons by Businesses Regulations. For more information, please contact your provincial or territorial CFO.

There may also be additional requirements under provincial and municipal laws, regulations and bylaws.

Ammunition Business

As indicated earlier, the Firearms Act requires a business or organization to be licensed to possess, sell or manufacture ammunition. Also, ammunition may be transferred to a business or individual with a valid firearms licence, or to a public agency (for example, a police force or a government department) with a valid Public Agency Identification Number. There may also be licence and storage requirements under the Explosives Act, which is administered by Natural Resources Canada. Licence fees for selling or manufacturing ammunition are waived under the Firearms Act if already paid for under the Explosives Act.

Fees

The fee for a firearms business licence depends on the business activities. Businesses involved in more than one activity only have to pay the highest of the applicable fees.

For more information on the current licence fee structure, please contact the CFP.

Information

For more information, contact the CFP.

This fact sheet is intended to provide general information only. For legal references, please refer to the Criminal Code and the Firearms Act and their corresponding regulations. Provincial, territorial and municipal laws, regulations and policies may also apply.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Entreprises d'armes à feu (y compris les musées)

Cette fiche d'information décrit les exigences de la Loi sur les armes à feu et de ses règlements connexes relativement aux entreprises d'armes à feu, dont les musées. Elle est destinée également à toute organisation du secteur privé qui possède des armes à feu.

Exigences relatives aux permis

Une entreprise, un musée ou une organisation doit être titulaire d'un permis d'armes à feu pour entreprise pour pouvoir posséder, fabriquer ou vendre des munitions, des armes à feu, des armes à autorisation restreinte ou prohibées, ou des dispositifs prohibés. Il faut un permis pour entreprise distinct pour chaque établissement.

Un permis pour entreprise n'est valide que pour les activités qu'il vise explicitement. Une entreprise ne peut posséder des articles prohibés qu'aux fins précisées à l'article 22 du Règlement sur les permis d'armes à feu.

Pour demander un permis d'armes à feu pour entreprise, il faut remplir et présenter le formulaire GRC 5486; on peut se le procurer auprès des contrôleurs des armes à feu (CAF) des provinces et territoires (1-800-731-4000).

Pour être admissible à un permis d'armes à feu pour entreprise, l'entreprise doit satisfaire aux exigences suivantes :

  • Tous les employés qui manient des armes à feu dans l'exercice de leurs fonctions doivent être titulaires d'un permis de possession et d'acquisition (PPA) valide.
    • Les employés n'ont besoin que d'un permis qui leur permet d'acquérir des armes à feu sans restriction si l'entreprise ne possède que cette classe d'armes à feu;
    • Les employés doivent être titulaires d'un permis qui leur permet d'acquérir des armes à feu à autorisation restreinte si l'entreprise possède des armes à feu à autorisation restreinte ou prohibées.
  • Les employés n'ont pas besoin d'être titulaires d'un permis d'armes à feu si l'entreprise a des armes à autorisation restreinte ou prohibées, des dispositifs prohibés ou des munitions prohibées, mais pas d'armes à feu. Cependant, ils doivent être admissibles à un permis d'armes à feu. Autrement dit, bien qu'ils n'aient pas à présenter de demande de permis, ils doivent passer avec succès une vérification des antécédents et ils ne doivent pas faire l'objet d'une ordonnance d'un tribunal leur interdisant de posséder des armes à feu ou d'autres articles réglementés.
  • Certaines personnes liées à l'entreprise devront également être admissibles à un permis, dont :
    • les propriétaires et les associés;
    • les administrateurs et actionnaires de la société, si l'entreprise est une société;
    • toute personne en relation avec les personnes susmentionnées, si elle a une influence directe sur l'entreprise ou pourrait avoir accès aux armes à feu détenues par l'entreprise.

Le CAF peut assortir le permis de conditions supplémentaires, à son gré.

Exigences d'enregistrement

Toutes les armes à feu prohibées ou à autorisation restreinte en stock dans une entreprise, y compris les carcasses et les boîtes de culasse non encore assemblées, doivent être enregistrées. Les armes à feu prohibées ou à autorisation restreinte achetées au Canada seront enregistrées au nom de l'entreprise dans le cadre de la cession (voir ci-dessous). Pour enregistrer les armes à feu prohibées ou à autorisation restreinte nouvellement importées ou les armes à feu que fabrique l'entreprise, il faut présenter le formulaire GRC 5489, aussi disponible au 1-800-731-4000.

Il n'y a pas de frais à payer pour l'enregistrement ou la cession.

Vérification d'armes à feu

Les armes à feu prohibées ou à autorisation restreinte doivent être vérifiées par un vérificateur autorisé si :

  • c'est leur premier enregistrement;
  • elles sont cédées à un nouveau propriétaire sans avoir jamais été vérifiées;
  • elles ont subi des modifications de sorte que leur description a changé;
  • le directeur de l'enregistrement a demandé qu'elles soient vérifiées pour confirmer leur description ou leur classification.

Les entreprises d'armes à feu titulaires de permis doivent compter parmi leur personnel un vérificateur autorisé chargé de vérifier leurs stocks. Elles peuvent prendre des dispositions pour qu'un de leurs employés reçoive la formation en vue de devenir un vérificateur autorisé, en composant le 1-800-731-4000.

Cession d'armes à feu

Lorsqu'une arme à feu prohibée ou à autorisation restreinte change de propriétaire, il faut mettre les dossiers d'enregistrement à jour et enregistrer l'arme à feu au nom du nouveau propriétaire. Les deux parties doivent prendre part au processus de cession. Pour demander la cession d'une arme à feu (que l'entreprise soit le cédant ou le cessionnaire), les méthodes disponibles sont les suivantes :

  • avec le service de cession en ligne du PCAF,
  • par téléphone au 1-800-731-4000,
  • en présentant une demande sur papier (formulaire GRC 5492 pour les armes à feu à autorisation restreinte ou prohibées).

Les services en ligne sont généralement la méthode la plus rapide et la plus facile. Il faut un numéro d'identification d'entreprise (NIE) obtenu du CAF pour pouvoir les utiliser.

Entreposage, exposition et transport sécuritaires

Les entreprises doivent se conformer au Règlement sur l'entreposage, l'exposition et le transport des armes à feu et autres armes par des entreprises. Pour de plus amples renseignements, elles peuvent joindre le CAF de leur province ou de leur territoire.

D'autres exigences pourraient s'ajouter à celles-ci en vertu des lois, règlements et arrêtés provinciaux et municipaux.

Entreprises de munitions

Tel que mentionné ci-dessus, en vertu de la Loi sur les armes à feu, les entreprises et organisations ont besoin de permis pour posséder des munitions ordinaires, mais le permis est en revanche obligatoire pour vendre ou fabriquer des munitions. De plus, elles peuvent céder leurs munitions à une entreprise ou à un particulier titulaire d'un permis d'armes à feu valide, ou encore à un organisme de services publics (par exemple, un service de police ou un ministère) détenteur d'un numéro d'inscription d'agence de services publics valide. Dans certains cas, elles devront également se soumettre aux exigences concernant les permis et l'entreposage en vertu de la Loi sur les explosifs, une loi appliquée par Ressources naturelles Canada. Si elles l'ont déjà fait sous le régime de la Loi sur les explosifs, elles n'ont pas à payer les frais de permis pour la vente ou la fabrication de munitions une deuxième fois sous le régime de la Loi sur les armes à feu.

Frais

Les frais s'appliquant au permis d'armes à feu pour entreprise dépendent des activités commerciales de l'entreprise. Les entreprises qui s'adonnent à plusieurs activités n'ont à payer que pour celle dont les frais sont les plus élevés.

Pour en savoir davantage sur la tarification actuelle, veuillez communiquer avec le PCAF.

Renseignements

Pour des renseignements supplémentaires, communiquer avec le PCAF.

Cette fiche a pour but de vous fournir des renseignements généraux. Pour des renseignements de nature juridique, veuillez consulter le Code criminel et la Loi sur les armes à feu ainsi que leurs règlements d'application. Les lois, règlements et politiques des provinces et des territoires et les règlements et politiques des municipalités peuvent également s'appliquer.