Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Classes of firearms

All firearms in Canada fall into one of three classes - non-restricted, restricted or prohibited. 

Non-restricted firearm:  any rifle or shotgun that is neither restricted nor prohibited. Most common long guns are non-restricted, but there are exceptions.

Restricted firearm* means:

  1. a handgun that is not a prohibited firearm,
  2. a firearm that
    • is not a prohibited firearm,
    • has a barrel less than 470 mm in length, and
    • is capable of discharging centre-fire ammunition in a semi-automatic  manner,
  3. a firearm that is designed or adapted to be fired when reduced to a length of less than 660 mm by folding, telescoping or otherwise, or
  4. a firearm of any other kind that is prescribed to be a restricted firearm in the Regulations Prescribing Certain Firearms and other Weapons, Components and Parts of Weapons, Accessories, Cartridge Magazines, Ammunition and Projectiles as Prohibited or Restricted.

Prohibited firearm* means:

  1. a handgun that
    • has a barrel equal to or less than 105 mm in length, or
    • is designed or adapted to discharge a 25 or 32 calibre cartridge, but does not include any such handgun that is prescribed, where the handgun is for use in international sporting competitions governed by the rules of the International Shooting Union,
  2. a firearm that is adapted from a rifle or shotgun, whether by sawing, cutting or any other alteration, and that, as so adapted,
    • is less than 660 mm in length, or
    • is 660 mm or greater in length and has a barrel less than 457 mm in length,
  3. an automatic firearm, whether or not it has been altered to discharge only one projectile with one pressure of the trigger, or
  4. any firearm that is prescribed to be a prohibited firearm in the Regulations Prescribing Certain Firearms and other Weapons, Components and Parts of Weapons, Accessories, Cartridge Magazines, Ammunition and Projectiles as Prohibited or Restricted.

*Criminal Code definitions

How a firearm’s class is determined

The class of a firearm is determined based on criteria set out in subsection 84(1) of the Criminal Codeand corresponding regulations made by Orders in Council. Accordingly, changes to the classification criteria can only be made by Parliament and the Governor in Council.

Can a firearm be “re-classified”?

It may occasionally appear that a firearm has been “re-classified”. However, this term is not accurate.

The Canadian Firearms Program (CFP) applies criteria set out in the Criminal Code and corresponding regulations. A firearm’s class depends on the attributes of the firearm and the definitions in the Criminal Code. The Criminal Code defines “restricted firearm” and “prohibited firearm”. In some cases, information may arise that influences the outcome of this determination, and subsequently, the firearm’s class. For example, authorities may evaluate an imported firearm based on information provided by a firearm manufacturer or importer, prior to importation. Upon inspection, however, it may be determined that the information initially provided was inaccurate or incomplete. 
Similarly, if it is determined that a firearm can easily be modified (e.g., reduced in length or converted from semi-automatic to full automatic), this new information will determine the firearm’s class. Also, the design of an imported firearm may change over time from that of the initial shipment. The newer variant may fit into a different class than the original model. 

Verifying the class of a firearm

Verification is the process of identifying a firearm and confirming its class.

The CFP coordinates a nation-wide network of trained and certified verifiers who can assist businesses and individuals. For verification information and assistance please call 1-800-731-4000 (ext. 1052) or email verifiers.network@rcmp-grc.gc.ca.

The Canadian Firearms Program has developed a comprehensive firearms identification tool called the Firearms Reference Table (FRT). Authorized users of the FRT, including domestic and international law enforcement, can access this firearms identification information through various interfaces.

Information

For more information, contact the CFP.

This fact sheet is intended to provide general information only. For legal references, please refer to the Criminal Code and the Firearms Act and their corresponding regulations. Provincial, territorial and municipal laws, regulations and policies may also apply.

La présente fiche de renseignements est également disponible en français.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Classes d'armes à feu

Toutes les armes à feu au Canada sont réparties en trois classes : sans restriction, à autorisation restreinte ou prohibée.

Les armes à feu sans restriction : il s'agit des carabines ou des fusils qui ne sont pas à autorisation restreinte ou prohibés. La plupart des armes d'épaule courantes sont des armes à feu sans restriction, mais il existe des exceptions.

« Arme à feu à autorisation restreinte »* :

  1. Toute arme de poing qui n'est pas une arme à feu prohibée;
  2. toute arme à feu — qui n'est pas une arme à feu prohibée — pourvue d'un canon de moins de 470 mm de longueur qui peut tirer des munitions à percussion centrale d'une manière semi-automatique;
  3. toute arme à feu conçue ou adaptée pour tirer lorsqu'elle est réduite à une longueur de moins de 660 mm par repliement, emboîtement ou autrement;
  4. toute arme à feu désignée comme telle par le Règlement désignant des armes à feu, armes, éléments ou pièces d'armes, accessoires, chargeurs, munitions et projectiles comme étant prohibés, à autorisation restreinte ou sans restriction.

« Arme à feu prohibée »* :

  1. Arme de poing pourvue d'un canon dont la longueur ne dépasse pas 105 mm ou conçue ou adaptée pour tirer des cartouches de calibre 25 ou 32, sauf celle désignée par règlement pour utilisation dans les compétitions sportives internationales régies par les règles de l'Union internationale de tir;
  2. arme à feu sciée, coupée ou modifiée de façon que la longueur du canon soit inférieure à 457 mm ou de façon que la longueur totale de l'arme soit inférieure à 660 mm;
  3. arme automatique, qu'elle ait été ou non modifiée pour ne tirer qu'un seul projectile à chaque pression de la détente;
  4. arme à feu désignée comme telle par le Règlement désignant des armes à feu, armes, éléments ou pièces d'armes, accessoires, chargeurs, munitions et projectiles comme étant prohibés, à autorisation restreinte ou sans restriction.

*définitions du Code criminel

Comment détermine-t-on la classe d'une arme à feu?

On détermine la classe d'une arme à feu en se basant sur les critères énoncés au paragraphe 84(1) du Code criminel et sur les règlements correspondants pris par décret. Par conséquent, seuls le Parlement et le gouverneur en conseil peuvent modifier les critères de classification.

Une arme à feu peut-elle changer de classe?

Il se pourrait, occasionnellement, qu'une arme à feu change de classe. Cependant, l'expression est inexacte.

Le Programme canadien des armes à feu (PCAF) applique les critères énoncés dans le Code criminel et dans les règlements correspondants. La classe d'une arme à feu dépend des caractéristiques de l'arme à feu et des définitions du Code criminel. Le Code criminel prévoit la définition d'« arme à feu à autorisation restreinte » et d'« arme à feu prohibée ». Dans certains cas, des informations peuvent influer sur le résultat de la détermination de la classe de l'arme à feu. Par exemple, les autorités peuvent évaluer une arme à feu importée en se basant sur les renseignements fournis par un fabriquant ou un importateur d'armes à feu, avant l'importation. Lors de l'inspection, cependant, il pourrait être déterminé que les renseignements fournis initialement sont inexacts ou incomplets. 
De même, si on détermine qu'une arme à feu peut facilement être modifiée (p. ex., réduction de la longueur ou conversion de semi-automatique à entièrement automatique), cette nouvelle information permettra de déterminer la classe de l'arme à feu. Aussi, il est possible que la conception de l'arme à feu importée ait changé depuis la dernière livraison. La nouvelle variante peut être placée dans une classe différente de celle du modèle original.

Vérification de la classe d'une arme à feu

La vérification est le processus permettant d'identifier une arme à feu et de confirmer sa classe.

Le Programme canadien des armes à feu coordonne, à l'échelle nationale, un réseau de vérificateurs formés et autorisés qui peuvent venir en aide aux entreprises et aux particuliers. Pour obtenir des renseignements sur la vérification et de l'aide en la matière, composez le 1-800-731-4000 (poste 1052) ou envoyez un courriel à l'adresse reseau.verificateurs@rcmp-grc.gc.ca.

Le Programme canadien des armes à feu a créé un outil d'identification des armes à feu extensif : le Tableau de référence des armes à feu (TRAF). Les utilisateurs autorisés du TRAF, y compris les organismes d'application de la loi nationaux et internationaux, peuvent consulter des renseignements sur l'identification des armes à feu par divers interfaces.

Renseignements

Pour des renseignements supplémentaires, contactez le PCAF.

Cette fiche a pour but de vous fournir des renseignements généraux. Pour des renseignements de nature juridique, veuillez consulter le Code criminel et la Loi sur les armes à feu ainsi que leurs règlements d'application. Les lois, règlements et politiques des provinces et des territoires et les règlements et politiques des municipalités peuvent également s'appliquer.

This fact sheet is also available in English.