Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Auctioneers Who Sell Firearms

Business Licence Requirements

Businesses, including auctioneers that sell firearms, are required to have a Firearms Licence for Businesses valid for all the classes (non-restricted, restricted and prohibited) of firearms they sell.

An Application for a Firearms Licence for Businesses (Including Museums) (form RCMP 5486), can be obtained by contacting the Canadian Firearms Program (CFP). All activities that apply to the business must be included on the application, and the licence will be limited to those activities.

Fee

The fee for a business licence to sell firearms at auction can vary, depending on the firearm-related activities included. The overall cost of the licence is determined by the activity with the highest fee, although all activities will be noted on the licence. Fee information can be obtained by contacting the CFP.

Employee Firearms Licence Requirements

Every employee who handles firearms as part of their employment with an auctioneer licensed as a firearms business is required to have a Possession and Acquisition Licence (PAL). If the auctioneer handles only non-restricted firearms, the employees are required to have PALs for non-restricted firearms only. If the auctioneer handles restricted or prohibited firearms, the employees are required to have PALs that allow them to possess and acquire restricted firearms.

Employees must renew their PAL every five years and inform the Canadian Firearms Program (CFP) of any address change.

Safe Storage and Display

Firearms must be stored and displayed safely at all times to deter loss, theft and accidents. Firearms displayed for auction must be unloaded, and ammunition cannot be displayed with the firearms.

If firearms are stored and displayed on the auctioneer's premises, the Storage, Display and Transportation of Firearms and Other Weapons by Businesses Regulationsapply. If the seller is an individual and the auction will be held on the seller's property, the Storage, Display, Transportation and Handling of Firearms by Individuals Regulations apply.

Buyers who want to examine a firearm before bidding on it can handle a firearm only if they are licensed to possess that class of firearm or they remain under the direct and immediate supervision of a properly licensed person while they handle the firearm.

Transferring a Restricted or Prohibited Firearm to a Buyer

Buyers need either a PAL or a business licence, with the appropriate privileges for the class of firearm they are acquiring. It is recommended that auctioneers remind potential buyers of the licence requirements before bidding begins.

Restricted or prohibited firearms must be registered to the buyer before the buyer can take possession of them. It is recommended that auctioneers contact the Chief Firearms Officer of their province or territory in advance to confirm the transfer process, particularly if the auction is taking place on a weekend or outside regular business hours.

Any restricted or prohibited firearms being transferred to the buyer will need to be verified by an approved verifier unless they have already been verified, their description has not changed, and the CFP is satisfied that the description and classification of the firearm are accurate. If selling firearms, auctioneers will need to have an approved verifier on staff to verify inventory. Auctioneers can arrange to have an employee trained and approved as a verifier, or get help to verify a firearm by contacting the CFP.

With a firearms business licence, an auctioneer can initiate a transfer of a restricted or prohibited firearm on the seller's behalf. If the seller is still in possession of the firearm and the auctioneer is simply taking bids on their behalf, the seller must initiate the transfer. The buyer must be involved in the transfer process as well.

Options for Transferring a Restriced or Prohibited Firearm

Online

A transfer application can be submitted using the online application if either the buyer or the seller has a firearms business licence and, in the case of restricted firearms, the firearms have previously been registered. The licensed business will need to start the transfer process. Auctioneers who have a firearms business licence and are transferring firearms to or from their own inventory may use the online process. Consignment sales of firearms cannot be done online, but can be done by phone or paper application.

By Phone

An auctioneer who is licensed as a firearms business and initiates the transfer on the seller's behalf may call the CFP business hotline Monday to Friday, from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. nationwide, at 1-800-396-3466. If the transfer is being initiated by an individual rather than a licensed business, the individual must call the CFP's general toll-free information line at 1-800-731-4000.

The person who calls should have the following information ready:

  • the buyer's full name, address, firearms licence number and telephone number;
  • the seller's full name, address, firearms licence number and telephone number;
  • the registration certificate number and the firearms identification number (as shown on the registration certificate); and,
  • the Firearms Reference Table number and verifier identification information (unless the firearm was verified previously).

An auctioneer who is licensed as a firearms business acting on the seller's behalf will also need to provide the name, address, Firearms Licence for Businesses number and Business Identification Number.

By Fax

This option is available only to auctioneers who are licensed as firearms businesses that are initiating a transfer. A special fax version of form RCMP 5492 is required and can be obtained by contacting the CFP. The completed form must be faxed to 1-888-449-7911.

By Paper Application

This process takes the longest because forms need to be mailed in. A buyer and seller who prefer to use this option must fill out the standard version of form RCMP 5492. The form can be obtained by contacting the CFP. It has two parts – one for the seller, the other for the buyer. The completed form must be mailed to:

RCMP Canadian Firearms Program
Central Processing Site
Box 1200
Miramichi, New Brunswick E1N 5Z3

Transfer Notice

Once a transfer has been completed, a notice will be sent to both the buyer and seller. If immediate notification is required, as is usually the case at auctions, the CFP transfer agent must be informed when the transfer process is initiated.

Information

For more information, contact the CFP.

This fact sheet is intended to provide general information only. For legal references, please refer to the Criminal Code and the Firearms Act and their corresponding regulations. Provincial, territorial and municipal laws, regulations and policies may also apply.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Les encanteurs qui vendent des armes à feu

Permis obligatoire pour l'entreprise

Comme les autres entreprises, les encanteurs doivent détenir un permis d'entreprise valide pour chaque classe d'armes à feu qu'ils vendent (sans restriction, à autorisation restreinte, prohibées).

Pour obtenir le formulaire GRC 5486 (Demande de permis d'armes à feu pour entreprises (y compris les musées)), veuillez contacter le Programme canadien des armes à feu (PCAF). L'entreprise doit indiquer dans sa demande l'ensemble de ses activités, et son permis se limitera auxdites activités.

Frais

Un permis d'entreprise pour vendre des armes aux enchères coûtera plus ou moins cher, selon les activités inscrites dans la demande. Le coût sera celui de l'activité la plus dispendieuse, mais le permis n'en couvrira pas moins toutes les activités. Communiquer avec le PCAF pour tout renseignement sur les frais.

Permis obligatoire pour les employés

Toute personne qui manipule des armes à feu dans l'exercice de ses fonctions pour un encanteur titulaire d'un permis d'entreprise doit détenir un permis de possession et d'acquisition (PPA) applicable soit seulement aux armes sans restriction, soit également aux armes prohibées ou à autorisation restreinte, selon les classes d'armes dont l'encanteur fait le commerce.

Les employés doivent renouveller leur PPA tous les cinq ans, et ils doivent signaler au PCAF tout changement d'adresse.

Sécurité dans l'entreposage et l'exposition

L'entreposage et l'exposition doivent être sécuritaires en tout temps pour éviter les pertes, les vols et les accidents. Les encanteurs ne doivent exposer que des armes non chargées, et ce, séparément des munitions.

Le Règlement sur l'entreposage, l'exposition et le transport des armes à feu et autres armes par des entreprises ou le Règlement sur l'entreposage, l'exposition, le transport et le maniement des armes à feu par des particuliers s'appliqueront respectivement selon que les armes sont exposées et entreposées dans les locaux d'un encanteur, ou que le vendeur est un particulier qui fait l'encan chez lui.

À supposer qu'un acheteur éventuel veuille manipuler une arme avant de faire son enchère, il ne pourra le faire que s'il détient un permis de possession pour la classe d'armes en question, ou sous la surveillance directe d'une personne qui en détient un.

Cession d'une arme prohibée ou à autorisation restreinte à un acheteur

Les acheteurs doivent détenir un PPA ou un permis d'entreprise pour toutes les armes à feu qu'ils achètent. Les encanteurs devraient le rappeler aux acheteurs éventuels avant le début des enchères.

Une arme prohibée ou à autorisation restreinte ne peut être cédée à un acheteur qu'une fois qu'elle est enregistrée à son nom. Nous recommandons aux encanteurs de vérifier les règles de cession auprès du contrôleur des armes à feu de leur province ou de leur territoire à l'avance, surtout si l'encan doit se dérouler en dehors des heures normales de travail, par exemple la fin de semaine.

L'arme à feu prohibée ou à autorisation restreinte qu'un vendeur cède à un acheteur doit d'abord faire l'objet d'une vérification par un vérificateur autorisé, à moins qu'elle ait déjà été vérifiée, que sa description n'ait pas changé, et que le PCAF juge adéquats et le classement et la description. Les encanteurs qui vendent des armes à feu doivent avoir parmi leurs employés un vérificateur autorisé chargé de vérifier les stocks. Pour faire former et autoriser un membre de leur personnel comme vérificateur, ou s'ils ont besoin d'aide pour vérifier une arme, ils peuvent communiquer avec le PCAF.

L'encanteur titulaire d'un permis d'armes à feu pour entreprise peut prendre en charge la cession d'une arme prohibée ou à autorisation restreinte pour le compte du vendeur. Par contre, le vendeur doit s'occuper de la cession lui-même si l'arme est toujours en sa possession et que l'encanteur ne faisait que prendre les enchères pour lui. L'acheteur doit, lui aussi, prendre part à la cession.

Options pour céder une arme à feu prohibée ou à autorisation restreinte

En ligne

Il est possible de demander une cession en ligne si le vendeur ou l'acheteur détient un permis d'armes à feu pour entreprise et (dans le cas des armes à autorisation restreinte) si les armes sont déjà enregistrées. Amorcer la cession incombe alors à l'entreprise titulaire du permis. De même, les encanteurs titulaires d'un permis d'entreprise peuvent procéder par Internet lorsqu'une arme, par cession, s'ajoute à leurs stocks ou s'en trouve retirée. Finalement, la cession dans le cas de ventes en consignation ne peut être demandée en ligne; il faut la demander sur papier ou par téléphone.

Par téléphone

Où qu'il se trouve au pays, tout encanteur titulaire d'un permis d'entreprise qui souhaite amorcer une cession pour un vendeur peut joindre la ligne d'assistance du PCAF du lundi au vendredi de 9 h à 17 h, au 1-800-396-3466. En revanche, les particuliers qui amorcent des cessions doivent appeler la ligne générale sans frais du PCAF, au 1-800-731-4000.

La personne qui appelle doit avoir en main les renseignements suivants :

  • le nom, l'adresse, le numéro de permis d'armes à feu et le numéro de téléphone de l'acheteur;
  • le nom, l'adresse, le numéro de permis d'armes à feu et le numéro de téléphone du vendeur;
  • le numéro du certificat d'enregistrement et le numéro d'enregistrement de l'arme à feu tel qu'il apparaît sur le certificat d'enregistrement;
  • le numéro dans le Tableau de référence des armes à feu, et l'identité du vérificateur (sauf si l'arme à feu a été vérifiée antérieurement).

De plus, tout encanteur qui agit à la place d'un vendeur doit fournir son nom, son adresse, son numéro de permis d'entreprise et son numéro d'identification d'entreprise.

Par télécopieur

Cette troisième option ne s'offre qu'aux encanteurs titulaires d'un permis d'entreprise qui amorcent des cessions. Elle requiert une version spéciale du formulaire GRC 5492, disponible auprès du PCAF. Numéro de télécopieur : 1-888-449-7911.

Sur papier

Cette dernière option est la plus lente, puisqu'elle exige d'envoyer les formulaires par la poste. Le vendeur et l'acheteur qui choisissent de procéder ainsi remplissent le formulaire GRC 5492 ordinaire (disponible auprès du PCAF), dont une partie s'adresse à chacun d'eux.

Adresse postale :

GRC, Programme canadien des armes à feu
Bureau central de traitement
C.P. 1200
Miramichi (Nouveau-Brunswick) E1N 5Z3

Avis de cession

Une fois la cession terminée, l'acheteur et le vendeur recevront un avis en ce sens. S'ils ont besoin d'une notification immédiate, comme c'est généralement le cas pour les ventes aux enchères, l'agent de cession du PCAF doit être prévenu dès le début du processus de cession.

Renseignements supplementaires

Pour des renseignements supplémentaires, contactez le PCAF.

Cette fiche a pour but de vous fournir des renseignements généraux. Pour des renseignements de nature juridique, veuillez consulter le Code criminel et la Loi sur les armes à feu ainsi que leurs règlements d'application. Les lois, règlements et politiques des provinces et des territoires et les règlements et politiques des municipalités peuvent également s'appliquer.