Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Aboriginal Peoples of Canada Adaptations Regulations (Firearms)

Under Canada's Firearms Act, everyone who possesses or acquires a firearm must have a firearms licence, and all restricted and prohibited firearms must be registered. While the Firearms Act applies to everyone in Canada, some provisions of the Act and of the Firearms Licences Regulations have been adapted for Aboriginal people who meet all three of the following criteria:

  1. They must be a member of one of the Aboriginal Peoples of Canada (Indian, Inuit and Métis) or a beneficiary under a treaty referred to in section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982.
  2. They must be a member of an Aboriginal community.
  3. They must engage in the traditional hunting practices of their community.

These adaptations facilitate the licensing process for Aboriginal people under unique circumstances while maintaining all the safety requirements of the Firearms Act.

The following summarizes the Aboriginal-specific regulations. For further information, please consult the Aboriginal Peoples of Canada Adaptations Regulations (Firearms).

Applying for a Firearms License

The only firearms licence available to new applicants aged 18 and older is the Possession and Acquisition Licence (PAL) (form RCMP 5592). Aboriginal persons who face difficulties applying for a licence may make use of the adaptations regulations to help complete their licence application. The Aboriginal-specific regulations address licence application challenges that may be encountered because of language differences, accessibility issues, licence eligibility concerns or conditions, minor's licence criteria, or safety certification requirements.

Language

Where there are language difficulties with English or French, an Aboriginal applicant may use a translator or interpreter to complete the licence application form. In addition, where the Aboriginal applicant is unable to make a written statement on an application form, an oral statement can be written by an individual acting on behalf of the applicant.

Eligibility for a Licence

All firearms licence applicants are screened for activities and behaviour that may present safety risks. The Chief Firearms Officer (CFO) for the province or territory will investigate all safety concerns and take warranted and appropriate action. In some cases, the CFO may refuse to issue a licence or impose conditions that limit the use of a firearm.

Eligible Aboriginal applicants concerned about being refused a licence or having conditions placed on their licence may ask an elder or leader in their community for a recommendation confirming the importance of the applicant engaging in traditional hunting practices. The CFO must take these recommendations into consideration.

Minor's Licences

In general, to be eligible for a Minor's Licence to use non-restricted firearms, an applicant must be at least 12 years of age. However, the Aboriginal adaptations allow Aboriginal minors under the age of 12 to obtain a licence if they engage in the traditional hunting practices of their Aboriginal community.

Alternative Safety Certification

All Canadians, Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal, must meet prescribed criteria for the safe handling and use of firearms and demonstrate knowledge of the laws relating to firearms. In order to apply for a licence, an individual must complete the Canadian Firearms Safety Course or the Canadian Restricted Firearms Safety Course and pass the tests. In certain situations, however, an Aboriginal elder, Aboriginal adult or Aboriginal minor may request alternative safety certification and not be required to take the firearms safety course or pass the tests:

  • An Aboriginal elder may request alternative certification because of their status as an elder but must demonstrate to a CFO their knowledge of firearms safety and the laws related to firearms.
  • An Aboriginal adult (at least 18 years of age) may request alternative certification if the safety course is not reasonably available or accessible because of time, location or cost. A recommendation from an elder or leader of the individual's community, confirming the individual has the necessary knowledge to be alternatively certified, is also required.
  • An Aboriginal individual who is under 18 must provide the CFO with a recommendation from an Aboriginal elder, an Aboriginal community leader or an adult who is at least 18 years of age, has known the minor for at least six months prior to application and has been safety certified by a CFO. The recommendation must indicate the applicant has the necessary knowledge to be alternatively certified.

Licence Renewals

Firearms licences for individuals aged 18 years or older must be renewed every five years. Reminders and renewal applications (form RCMP 5614) are sent to all licence holders at least 90 days before their current licence expires.

Treaty Ammunition

Under the Firearms Act, ammunition can be legally transferred to a person only if they possess a firearms licence. However, there are eight historical treaties between the Government of Canada and certain First Nations that provide treaty beneficiaries with certain amounts of ammunition on an ongoing, annual basis. The transfer provisions of the Firearms Act have been adapted to authorize the transfer of ammunition to treaty beneficiaries even if they do not possess a firearms licence.

Note

Treaty ammunition is often distributed in the form of currency, and treaty beneficiaries require a valid firearms licence to purchase ammunition from a retailer.

Information

For more information, contact the CFP.

This fact sheet is intended to provide general information only. For legal references, please refer to the Criminal Code and the Firearms Act and their corresponding regulations. Provincial, territorial and municipal laws, regulations and policies may also apply.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Règlement d'adaptation visant les armes à feu des peuples autochtones du Canada

En vertu de la Loi sur les armes à feu, il faut être titulaire d'un permis d'armes à feu pour posséder ou acquérir une arme à feu, et toutes les armes à feu à autorisation restreinte et les armes à feu prohibées doivent être enregistrées. Si la Loi sur les armes à feu s'applique à tous les Canadiens, certaines dispositions du Règlement sur les permis d'armes à feu ont été adaptées aux Autochtones qui remplissent les trois critères ci-dessous :

  1. être membre d'un des peuples autochtones du Canada (Indiens, Inuits, Métis) ou être bénéficiaire au titre d'un traité visé à l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982;
  2. être membre d'une collectivité autochtone;
  3. pratiquer la chasse ancestrale selon les traditions de sa collectivité.

Ces adaptations peuvent faciliter le processus de délivrance de permis d'armes à feu aux Autochtones dans certaines circonstances, en plus d'assurer le respect de toutes les exigences en matière de sécurité de la Loi sur les armes à feu.

Le présent document résume les dispositions du règlement d'adaptation visant les Autochtones. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le Règlement d'adaptation visant les armes à feu des peuples autochtones du Canada.

Présentation d'une demande de permis d'armes à feu

Le permis de possession et d'acquisition (PPA) (formulaire GRC 5592) est le seul permis d'armes à feu que peuvent obtenir les nouveaux demandeurs âgés de 18 ans ou plus. Les Autochtones qui ont de la difficulté à présenter une demande de permis peuvent se servir du règlement d'adaptation pour remplir le formulaire nécessaire. Ce règlement tient compte des difficultés que peuvent rencontrer les Autochtones qui font une demande de permis, notamment en raison d'obstacles linguistiques, des problèmes d'accessibilité, de préoccupations ou de conditions relatives à l'admissibilité au permis, des critères régissant l'octroi de permis à des mineurs ou des exigences liées au certificat de sécurité.

Langue

S'il éprouve des difficultés liées à la connaissance du français ou de l'anglais, un Autochtone peut avoir recours à un traducteur ou à un interprète pour remplir le formulaire de demande de permis. De plus, s'il est incapable de rédiger une déclaration sur le formulaire, une déclaration orale peut être transcrite sur le formulaire par une personne agissant au nom du demandeur.

Admissibilité à un permis

Tous les demandeurs de permis d'armes à feu font l'objet de contrôles visant à établir l'absence des risques pour la sécurité. Le contrôleur des armes à feu (CAF) de la province ou du territoire concerné enquête sur toutes les préoccupations relatives à la sécurité et prend les mesures nécessaires, le cas échéant. Dans certains cas, le CAF peut refuser de délivrer un permis ou imposer des conditions limitant l'utilisation d'une arme à feu.

Un demandeur autochtone admissible, qui craint que sa demande de permis soit refusée ou que son permis soit assorti de conditions, peut demander à un aîné ou à un dirigeant de sa collectivité de faire une recommandation confirmant l'importance pour lui de pratiquer la chasse ancestrale. Le CAF doit tenir compte de cette recommandation.

Permis de mineur

Dans la plupart des cas, l'âge minimal pour obtenir un permis de mineur pour l'utilisation d'une arme à feu sans restriction est fixé à 12 ans. Cependant, le règlement d'adaptation prévoit qu'un mineur autochtone de moins de 12 ans est admissible à un permis s'il pratique la chasse ancestrale selon les traditions de sa collectivité.

Certificat de sécurité de substitution

Tous les Canadiens, autochtones ou non, doivent satisfaire à des critères précis relatifs au maniement et à l'utilisation sécuritaires d'une arme à feu et doivent prouver leur connaissance des lois visant les armes à feu. Pour obtenir un permis, une personne doit suivre le Cours canadien de sécurité dans le maniement des armes à feu ou le Cours canadien de sécurité dans le maniement des armes à feu à autorisation restreinte et réussir les examens. Dans les cas décrits ci-dessous, cependant, un aîné, un adulte ou un mineur autochtone peut demander un certificat de sécurité de substitution sans avoir à suivre le cours de sécurité dans le maniement des armes à feu ou à réussir les examens :

  • un aîné autochtone peut demander un certificat de substitution en raison de son statut d'aîné, mais il doit prouver à un CAF sa connaissance des règles de sécurité et des lois sur les armes à feu;
  • un adulte autochtone (âgé d'au moins 18 ans) peut demander un certificat de substitution si le cours de sécurité n'est pas offert à un moment, à un endroit ou à un coût raisonnable. Un aîné ou un dirigeant de la collectivité du demandeur doit alors faire une recommandation confirmant que le demandeur possède les connaissances nécessaires pour obtenir un certificat de substitution;
  • un Autochtone de moins de 18 ans doit remettre au CAF une recommandation d'un aîné, d'un dirigeant d'une collectivité autochtone ou d'un Autochtone de plus de 18 ans qui le connaît depuis au moins six mois avant qu'il ne présente sa demande et qui a obtenu un certificat de sécurité d'un CAF. La recommandation doit confirmer que le demandeur a les connaissances nécessaires pour obtenir un certificat de substitution.

Renouvellement de permis

Les permis d'armes à feu pour les particuliers de 18 ans et plus doivent être renouvelés tous les cinq ans. Des rappels et des demandes de renouvellement (formulaire GRC 5614) sont envoyés à tous les titulaires de permis au moins 90 jours avant l'expiration de leur permis.

Munitions visées par des traités

En vertu de la Loi sur les armes à feu, des munitions ne peuvent être cédées légalement qu'au titulaire d'un permis d'armes à feu. Cependant, huit traités historiques conclus entre le gouvernement du Canada et des groupes des Premières nations permettent que certaines quantités de munitions soient cédées chaque année aux bénéficiaires de ces traités. Les dispositions de cession de la Loi sur les armes à feu ont été adaptées pour autoriser la cession de munitions aux bénéficiaires de ces traités, même s'ils ne sont pas titulaires d'un permis d'armes à feu.

Remarque

Les munitions visées par des traités sont souvent distribuées sous forme de monnaie et les bénéficiaires de ces traités ont besoin d'un permis d'armes à feu valide pour se procurer des munitions auprès d'un détaillant.

Renseignements

Pour des renseignements supplémentaires, contactez le PCAF.

Cette fiche a pour but de vous fournir des renseignements généraux. Pour des renseignements de nature juridique, veuillez consulter le Code criminel et la Loi sur les armes à feu ainsi que leurs règlements d'application. Les lois, règlements et politiques des provinces et des territoires et les règlements et politiques des municipalités peuvent également s'appliquer.