Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Revocation of the Registration Certificates for Sport Systeme Dittrich model BD38 and BD3008 firearms

Special Bulletin for Police No. 88

March 4, 2013

Snapshot

The RCMP Canadian Firearms Program (CFP) has revoked the registration certificates for Sport Systeme Dittrich (SSD) model BD38 and BD3008 firearms belonging to individuals and some businesses.  These firearms were originally registered as restricted, but have since been determined to be prohibited.

Background

In Canada, all firearms are classified as non-restricted, restricted or prohibited pursuant to the criteria outlined in subsection 84(1) of the Criminal Code.  The RCMP CFP routinely surveys the firearms marketplace worldwide and maintains and updates the Firearms Reference Table (FRT), which is a comprehensive database of firearms descriptions.  The FRT provides law enforcement with a systematic and standardized method of identifying and describing firearms.

New models of firearms are initially assessed based on the description provided by the manufacturer or importer.  If the initial assessment indicates the firearm may be high-risk, or the information provided is incomplete, an inspection of the firearm may be required.  The SSD model BD38 and BD3008 firearms were imported and registered as restricted firearms based on the descriptions provided by the importer (which included the manufacturer’s specifications) to the RCMP CFP.  However, subsequent inspection by the RCMP CFP has established that these firearms actually meet the legal definition of a prohibited firearm.

Under the Firearms Act, the RCMP CFP has revoked the registration certificates issued for the SSD model BD38 and BD3008 firearms to individuals and those businesses who do not have the appropriate condition on their licence.  Some businesses can legally possess these firearms, if their licence has the appropriate condition, as well as authorized public agents (such as police services).

Implications

Individuals and ineligible businesses who own these firearms have been notified they are required to surrender the firearms to police for destruction.  These firearms owners have the right to refer the revocation to a provincial court judge for a reference hearing within 30 days of receiving the Notice of Revocation.  As well, the SSD model BD38 and BD3008 owners who receive revocation notices have been offered financial compensation.  However, in order to be eligible for compensation, owners must agree to forego the option to refer the revocation to a provincial court judge.

The SSD model BD38 and BD3008 firearm owners who have received a letter and a Notice of Revocation from the RCMP Canadian Firearms Program have been advised not to take firearms into their local police without first contacting them in person or by phone to make suitable arrangements for the firearms to be picked up.

These firearms owners have also been advised to ensure that they obtain a receipt from their local police describing (a) the firearm and, (b) the date of disposal.

Since the SSD model BD38 and BD3008 firearms are easily convertible to fully automatic fire, they pose a risk to public safety.  The cooperation of law enforcement partners in collecting and disposing of these firearms is appreciated.

If you have questions, please contact the RCMP Canadian Firearms Program.

This bulletin is intended to provide general information only. For legal references, please refer to the Firearms Act and Regulations. Provincial, territorial and municipal laws, regulations and policies may also apply.

Le présent bulletin est également disponible en Français

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Révocation des certificats d’enregistrement des modèles d’armes à feu BD38 et BD3008 de Sport Systeme Dittrich

Bulletin spécial à l'intention des policiers – no 88

Le 4 mars 2013

Coup d’oeil

Le Programme canadien des armes à feu (PCAF) de la GRC a révoqué les certificats d’enregistrement pour les modèles d’armes à feu BD38 et BD3008 de Sport Systeme Dittrich (SSD) appartenant à des particuliers et à certaines entreprises. Enregistrées au départ comme armes à feu à autorisation restreinte, ces armes à feu sont depuis considérées comme étant prohibées.

Contexte

Au Canada, le paragraphe 84(1) du Code criminel classe toutes les armes à feu dans l’une ou l’autre des catégories « sans restriction », « à autorisation restreinte » et « prohibée ». Le PCAF de la GRC sonde régulièrement le marché mondial des armes à feu afin d’alimenter et de tenir à jour le Tableau de référence des armes à feu (TRAF), qui est une base de données exhaustive des descriptions d’armes à feu. Le TRAF fournit aux forces de l’ordre une méthode systématique et normalisée pour identifier et décrire des armes à feu.

Les nouveaux modèles d’armes à feu sont d’abord évalués en fonction de la description fournie par le fabricant ou l’importateur. Si l’évaluation initiale indique que l’arme à feu peut présenter un risque élevé, ou si l’information fournie est incomplète, une inspection de l’arme à feu peut être exigée. Les modèles BD38 et BD3008 ont été enregistrés dans la classe des armes à feu à autorisation restreinte à partir des descriptions (qui contiennent elles-mêmes les spécifications du fabricant) que l’importateur a communiquées au PCAF de la GRC. Toutefois, l’inspection qui a eu lieu par la suite a permis d’établir que ces modèles répondent à la définition d’« arme à feu prohibée ».

En vertu de la Loi sur les armes à feu, le PCAF de la GRC a révoqué le certificat d’enregistrement des modèles SSD BD38 et SSD BD3008 délivré aux particuliers et aux entreprises dont le permis ne comprend pas la condition appropriée. Certaines entreprises peuvent posséder légalement de telles armes à feu si leur permis comporte la condition appropriée, de même que les agents publics autorisés (comme les services de police).

Répercussions

Les particuliers et les entreprises inéligibles, qui sont propriétaires de ces armes à feu, ont été avisés de les remettre à la police pour qu’elle les détruise. Ils peuvent toutefois contester cet avis devant un tribunal provincial dans les 30 jours suivant sa réception ou encore accepter l’offre de compensation financière qui y est jointe. Mais pour être admissibles à la compensation, ils doivent accepter de renoncer à contester la révocation devant un juge de la Cour provinciale.

Les propriétaires d’armes à feu SSD BD38 et SSD BD3008 qui ont reçu une lettre et un avis de révocation du PCAF de la GRC ne doivent pas les remettre au service de police de leur localité sans l’avoir averti au préalable, en personne ou par téléphone, afin que les dispositions nécessaires soient prises pour procéder au ramassage.

Les propriétaires de ces armes doivent également demander un reçu sur lequel apparaissent (a) la description de l’arme et (b) la date de sa destruction.

Comme les modèles SSD BD38 et SSD BD3008 peuvent facilement être modifiés en armes à feu automatiques, ils peuvent présenter un risque pour la sécurité publique. Nous remercions nos partenaires d’application de la loi qui collaborent avec nous en vue de récupérer et d’éliminer ces armes à feu.

Pour toute question au sujet du présent bulletin, veuillez communiquer avec le
PCAF de la GRC.

Ce bulletin est destiné à fournir des renseignements généraux seulement. Pour des renseignements de nature juridique, veuillez consulter la Loi sur les armes à feu et ses règlements d'application. Les lois, règlements et politiques des provinces et des territoires ou les règlements et politiques des municipalités peuvent également s'appliquer.

This bulletin is also available in English