Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Unauthorized importation of over-capacity cartridge magazines for retail sale

Special Business Bulletin No. 86

June 11, 2013

Capacity limits for magazines are listed in Part 4 of the Criminal Code of Canada’s Regulations Prescribing Certain Firearms and other Weapons, Components and Parts of Weapons, Accessories, Cartridge Magazines, Ammunition and Projectiles as Prohibited or Restricted (SOR/98-642) (“The Regulations”). Cartridge magazines over the applicable capacity limits are prohibited devices in Canada.

Prohibited devices may be possessed by a firearms business, but the business must be licensed to possess such items for a specific “prescribed purpose”. The prescribed purposes authorizing a business to possess prohibited firearms, prohibited weapons, prohibited devices or prohibited ammunition are found in section 22 of the Firearms Licences Regulations of the Firearms Act. Applications for such purposes must be approved by the Chief Firearms Officer (CFO) for the province in which the business is situated.

Businesses cannot possess magazines with a cartridge capacity over the legal limits set out in the Regulations, with the intention to “pin” them (to permanently alter or re-manufacture them so that they are no longer capable of containing more than five or ten cartridges, as the case may be) for the purpose of retail sales. This is not a prescribed purpose set out in section 22 of the Firearms Licences Regulations. Therefore, the CFO cannot licence a business for this activity, and a business cannot legally acquire over capacity magazines and then pin these magazines back to five or ten rounds for the purpose of selling them to clients. 

Cartridge magazines may only be imported into Canada for the purpose of retail sales if they are already within the legal capacity limits. 

The alteration or re-manufacturing of a magazine so that it is not capable of containing more than five or ten cartridges is described at sub-section 3(4) and 3(5) of Part 4 of the Regulations.

Ce bulletin est aussi disponible en français.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Importation non autorisée de chargeurs à surcapacité pour la vente au détail

Bulletin spécial à l'intention des entreprises – no 86

le 11 juin 2013

La capacité maximale des différents chargeurs est prescrite dans la partie 4 du Règlement désignant des armes à feu, armes, éléments ou pièces d’armes, accessoires, chargeurs, munitions et projectiles comme étant prohibés ou à autorisation restreinte (DORS/98-462) (ci-après appelé « Règlement »), habilité par le Code criminel. Tout chargeur dont la  capacité dépasse la capacité maximale autorisée est un dispositif prohibé au Canada.

Une entreprise d’armes à feu peut posséder des dispositifs prohibés si son permis l’autorise à posséder de tels dispositifs à des fins particulières ‘’prévues par règlement’’. Ces fins prévues par règlement autorisant une entreprise à posséder des armes à feu, d'autres armes, des dispositifs ou des munitions prohibés sont indiquées dans l'article 22 du Règlement sur les permis d'armes à feu de la Loi sur les armes à feu. Les demandes relatives à ces fins particulières doivent être approuvées par le contrôleur des armes à feu (CAF) de la province où se trouve l’entreprise.

Une entreprise ne peut posséder de chargeurs dont la capacité dépasse les limites fixées par leRèglement dans le but de les modifier ou de les refabriquer en permanence afin qu’ils ne puissent pas contenir plus de cinq ou dix cartouches, selon le cas, dans l'intention de les vendre au détail. Cela ne fait pas partie des fins visées par l'article 22 du Règlement sur les permis d’armes à feu. Aussi, le CAF ne peut pas accorder de permis à une entreprise à cette fin, pas plus qu'une entreprise ne peut acheter légalement de chargeurs à surcapacité pour ensuite les limiter à cinq ou dix cartouches dans l'intention de les revendre.

Il n'est permis d'importer des chargeurs au Canada pour la vente au détail que s'ils possèdent déjà une capacité légale.

Les paragraphes 3(4) et 3(5) duRèglement, partie 4, décrivent la modification ou la refabrication d'un chargeur pour qu'il ne puisse pas contenir plus de cinq ou dix cartouches.

This bulletin is also available in English.