Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Government of Canada Reinstates Firearms Licence Fees, and Extends Compliance Incentives

Special Business Bulletin No. 85

May 17, 2013

Snapshot

The fee waiver for renewals of non-restricted firearms licences has expired. 

The new Possession Only Licence measure and the Order declaring an Amnesty Period have been renewed until May 16, 2014.

Implications

The waiver of the fee for renewing a firearms licence with non-restricted privileges has expired. As explained in other Government announcements, the fee waiver was not renewed due to the current economic climate of fiscal restraint.

Individuals who renew their Possession Only Licence (POL) or Possession and Acquisition Licence (PAL) with non-restricted firearm privileges on or after May 17, 2013, will be required to pay the renewal fee of $60 (for a POL, or for a PAL with only non-restricted privileges).  Please note that fees for licences with restricted or prohibited privileges, which were reinstated in September 2012, will continue to be in effect.

The Government has chosen to extend two compliance incentives – the new Possession Only Licence measure, and the Order Declaring an Amnesty Period – until May 16, 2014. These initiatives facilitate previously lawful firearms owners coming back into compliance with the Firearms Act.

For more information, please contact the RCMP Canadian Firearms Program.

This bulletin is intended to provide general information only. For legal references, please refer to the Criminal Code and the Firearms Act and their corresponding regulations. Provincial, territorial and municipal laws, regulations and policies may also apply.

 

Le présent bulletin est également disponible en français.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Le gouvernement du Canada rétablit les droits liés aux permis d’armes à feu, et prolonge des mesures d’incitation à la conformité

Bulletin spécial à l'intention des entreprises – no 85

Le 17 mai 2013

En un mot

La dispense des droits pour renouveler les permis d’armes à feu sans restriction est expiré.

La mesure d’un nouveau permis de possession simple, et le Décret fixant une période d’amnistie ont été prolongés jusqu’au 16 mai 2014.

Répercussions

La dispense des droits applicables au renouvellement des permis d’armes à feu sans restriction vient à échéance. Comme expliqué dans autres annonces, le gouvernement n’a pas renouvelé cette dispense dans le contexte actuel de restrictions budgétaires.

Les particuliers qui renouvellent leur permis de possession seulement (PPS) ou permis de possession et d’acquisition (PPA) d’armes à feu sans restriction le 17 mai 2013 ou après seront tenus de payer le droit de renouvellement de 60 $ (pour un PPS ou un PPA d’armes à feu sans restriction seulement). Veuillez noter que les droits applicables aux permis assortis de privilèges relatifs aux armes à feu à autorisation restreinte ou prohibées, qui ont été rétablis en septembre 2012, continueront d’être en vigueur.

Le gouvernement a choisi de prolonger deux mesures d’incitation à la conformité – soit la mesure d’un nouveau permis de possession seulement, et le Décret fixant une période d’amnistie – jusqu’au 16 mai 2014. Ces mesures visent à aider les propriétaires d’armes à feu qui respectaient la loi auparavant à se conformer à la Loi sur les armes à feu.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec le Programme canadien des armes à feu de la GRC.  Le bulletin a pour but de vous fournir des renseignements généraux.

Pour des renseignements de nature juridique, veuillez consulter le Code criminel et la Loi sur les armes à feu ainsi que leurs règlements d’application. Les lois, règlements et politiques des provinces et des territoires et les règlements et politiques des municipalités peuvent également s'appliquer.

This bulletin is also available in English.