Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

XRAIL System identified as a prohibited device

Special Business Bulletin No. 78

January 06, 2012

Snapshot

The RCMP Canadian Firearms Program has recently identified the XRAIL System magazine extender for shotguns as a prohibited device.

Background

The maximum capacity of a cartridge magazine is set out in Part 4 of the Regulations Prescribing Certain Firearms and other Weapons, Components and Parts of Weapons, Accessories, Cartridge Magazines, Ammunition and Projectiles as Prohibited or Restricted.  The Regulations prescribe “prohibited devices”, and a magazine that has a capacity which exceeds the maximum-permitted capacity is a prohibited device.

The XRAIL System magazine extender, which can be attached to semiautomatic shotguns, increases the magazine capacity to 22 cartridges (standard version) or 14 cartridges (compact version) which is more than the maximum-allowed capacity of five cartridges.

Implications

This is a public safety concern because these devices may inadvertently be acquired by Canadian businesses or individuals.

Businesses may be in possession of certain prohibited devices if appropriately licensed.  However, individuals may not possess prohibited devices.

Businesses not licensed to possess prohibited devices that have the XRAIL System magazine extender in their possession must surrender or dispose of them through either the local police or their provincial/territorial Chief Firearms Officer.  Failure to surrender or dispose of a prohibited device which one is not authorized to possess can lead to charges under the Criminal Code. This also applies to all individuals.

For further information on how to lawfully and safely surrender or dispose of these devices, the local police or the RCMP Canadian Firearms Program should be contacted. The CFP toll-free number is 1-800-731-4000.

This bulletin is intended to provide general information only. For legal references, please refer to the Firearms Act, the Criminal Code and associated Regulations. Provincial, territorial and municipal laws, regulations and policies may also apply.

Le présent bulletin est également disponible en français

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Le système XRAIL est considéré comme un dispositif prohibé

Bulletin spécial à l'intention des entreprises – no 78

Le 6 janvier 2012

Aperçu

Le Programme canadien des armes à feu a déterminé récemment que le système XRAIL, un dispositif d’augmentation de la capacité du chargeur d’une carabine, est un dispositif prohibé.

Contexte

La capacité maximale d’un chargeur est établie à la partie 4 du Règlement désignant des armes à feu, armes, éléments ou pièces d'armes, accessoires, chargeurs, munitions et projectiles comme étant prohibés ou à autorisation restreinte. Le règlement définit ce qu’est un « dispositif prohibé », et un chargeur dont la capacité est supérieure au maximum permis correspond à cette définition.

Le système XRAIL, qui peut être fixé à des fusils de chasse semi-automatiques, augmente la capacité du chargeur à 22 cartouches (version standard) ou à 14 cartouches (version compacte). La capacité maximale autorisée est de cinq cartouches.

Conséquences

Le système XRAIL est une préoccupation en matière de sécurité publique, car une entreprise ou un particulier canadiens pourrait en faire l’acquisition par inadvertance.

Une entreprise peut posséder certains dispositifs prohibés si son permis est assorti des privilèges nécessaires à cette fin. Cependant, un particulier ne peut posséder un dispositif prohibé.

Les entreprises dont le permis ne prévoit pas la possession de dispositifs prohibés et qui ont en leur possession le système XRAIL doivent en disposer ou le remettre à leur service de police local ou au bureau du contrôleur des armes à feu de leur province ou territoire. Toute entreprise ou tout particulier qui a en sa possession un dispositif prohibé sans autorisation légale et qui n’en dispose pas ou ne le remet pas à un organisme autorisé commet une infraction au Code criminel.

Pour obtenir davantage de renseignements sur la façon sécuritaire et légale de remettre un tel dispositif ou d’en disposer, vous pouvez communiquer avec votre service de police local ou le Programme canadien des armes à feu de la GRC. Le numéro sans frais du PCAF est le 1-800-731-4000.

Ce bulletin est destiné à fournir des renseignements généraux seulement. Pour des renseignements de nature juridique, veuillez consulter la Loi sur les armes à feu, le Code criminel et leurs règlements d’application. Les lois, règlements et politiques des provinces, des territoires ou des municipalités peuvent également s'appliquer.

This bulletin is also available in English