Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Your Privacy and Access to Information

Canadian Firearms Program

This section describes how the Canadian Firearms Program (CFP) uses Program information and how this information is made accessible.

The RCMP holds records pertaining to firearms licensing and registration. However, in the provinces of Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island, where firearms licensing is administered by a provincially appointed Chief Firearms Officer, there may be additional information held by the Chief Firearms Officer for the province. In these provinces, access requests should also be made under the relevant provincial legislation to the Chief Firearms Officer.

Statement of Privacy and Access

The CFP is committed to protecting information collected to administer the Program, and adheres to the spirit and requirements of the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act.

Access to Information

Information held by the CFP is made available under the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act. Related policy guidelines are available on the Treasury Board web site.

Right of Access

The Access to Information Act allows Canadian citizens, permanent residents and any person or corporation that resides in Canada the right to access information under the control of the Government of Canada. This right of access is in accordance with the principles that government information should be available to the public that necessary exemptions to the right of access should be limited, and that decisions on the disclosure of government information should be reviewed independently of government.

The Privacy Act provides citizens with the right to access their personal information held by the Government of Canada and protection of that information against unauthorized use and disclosure.

Forms — Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat

Requesting Access

Access to Information and Privacy Branch

Online Transactions

Is My Information Secure?

Information shared with the CFP online is protected while in transit to ensure confidentiality through state-of-the-art technology. Further protection is available for individuals when they select a personal information number (PIN) and for business clients that use a business information number (BIN) when accessing their data.

Tracking On-line Activities

The CFP tracks online activities to determine how visitors use the website and to help improve navigation and user satisfaction. Tracking occurs through the application of "session cookies", an IT tool developed for service monitoring and improvement purposes. You have the option of refusing to accept this tracking process, but you will be unable to complete your transaction online. Other methods of transaction are available by contacting us at 1 800 731-4000.

Unauthorized Access

Processes are in place to detect attempts at hacking into CFP computers and prevent access to personal information. The RCMP continually monitors network traffic on the CFP website for any possible attempts at unauthorized access. In addition, security procedures have been added to the website to enhance an already secure service.

Use and Disclosure of Program Information

How does the CFP use information provided on application forms?

Safety-training information collected by the CFP and federal and provincial Chief Firearms Officers (CFO) pursuant to the Firearms Act is used exclusively to determine licence eligibility.

Information provided when applying for a firearms licence or certain authorizations (e.g. to transfer non-restricted firearms to new owners, to carry or transport restricted or prohibited firearms) is used exclusively by a CFO to determine eligibility for the privilege or activity in question.

Information provided to register a firearm is used to determine firearms classification or to issue a firearms certificate. Before a registration certificate is issued, refused or revoked, the Registrar will confirm that the associated licencee is eligible to possess the specified class of firearm.

Personal information is provided on certain Firearms Program forms such as names, addresses, and medical information. Where is this information stored and who can view it?

This information is stored in the Canadian Firearms Information System (CFIS), a database controlled by the CFP. The CFP ensures strict procedures that allow only those employees with a need consistent with their duties to view personal information. For example, only a CFO or delegated firearms officer has authority to collect personal information during the course of an investigation in determining licence eligibility. Also, police officers verify firearms information to determine licence status before responding to a call. However, at no time are they able to view names of references, spouses or medical information.

Does the CFP share personal information collected for the Firearms Program with other agencies or the private sector?

Necessary measures have been taken to protect the confidentiality of the personal information you provide. For more information about your rights, see InfoSource, a Government of Canada publication available in major libraries, at government information offices and from constituency offices of federal Members of Parliament

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Protection des renseignements personnels et accès à l'information

Programme canadien des armes à feu

La présente section décrit ce que le Programme canadien des armes à feu (PCAF) fait avec les renseignements qu'il obtient dans le cadre du PCAF et dans quelles conditions il peut les communiquer.

La GRC détient des dossiers relatifs aux permis et à l'enregistrement des armes à feu. Cependant, en Ontario, au Québec, au Nouveau-Brunswick, en Nouvelle-Écosse et à l'Île du Prince-Édouard, la délivrance des permis d'armes à feu est géré par un contrôleur des armes à feu nommé par la province, et ce contrôleur des armes à feu peut avoir en sa possession des renseignements additionnels. Dans ces provinces, il faut également présenter des demandes d'accès à l'information au contrôleur des armes à feu conformément aux lois provinciales pertinentes.

Déclaration relative à la confidentialité et à l'accès à l'information

Le PCAF protège les renseignements obtenus dans le cadre du Programme et respecte la lettre et l'esprit de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Accès à l'information

Les renseignements détenus par le PCAF peuvent être communiqués en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Pour connaître les lignes directrices applicables, voir le site Web du Conseil du Trésor.

Droit d'accès

La Loi sur l'accès à l'information reconnaît aux citoyennes et citoyens canadiens, aux résidentes et résidents permanents ainsi qu'à toute personne morale au Canada le droit de demander des renseignements relevant de l'administration fédérale. Ce droit est conforme aux principes voulant que le public ait le droit d'avoir accès aux renseignements détenus par l'État, que les dérogations indispensables à ce droit doivent être limitées, et que les décisions concernant la communication ou la non-communication des renseignements doivent pouvoir faire l'objet d'un recours indépendant du pouvoir exécutif.

La Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels confère à toute personne un droit d'accès à l'information que le gouvernement du Canada possède à son sujet et protège cette information contre toute utilisation ou divulgation non autorisée. L'auteur de la demande doit être présent au Canada, un citoyen canadien ou un résident permanent.

Formulaires — Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada

Demande d'accès

La sous-direction de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels

Communications en ligne

Mes renseignements personnels sont-ils protégés?

Les renseignements envoyés en ligne au PCAF sont protégés par une technologie de pointe pendant leur transfert. Cette protection est accrue lorsqu'un particulier ou une entreprise choisit un numéro d'information personnelle (NIP) ou un numéro d'identification d'entreprise (NIE) pour accéder à ses données.

Suivi des activités en ligne

Le PCAF surveille les activités qui ont lieu sur son site pour savoir comment celui-ci est utilisé et ainsi, entre autres, pouvoir améliorer la navigation et répondre aux besoins des utilisateurs. Ce suivi se fait au moyen de témoins (cookies), instrument informatique qui sert à surveiller les activités d'un site Web et à l'améliorer. Un visiteur peut interdire les témoins, mais il ne peut alors faire aucune transaction en ligne. Pour faire les transactions autrement, communiquez avec nous au numéro 1 800 731-4000.

Accès non autorisé

Le site Web du PCAF est doté de dispositifs de détection des tentatives de piratage et de protection des renseignements personnels. La GRC surveille constamment le trafic afin de repérer les tentatives d'accès non autorisées. Par ailleurs, d'autres dispositifs ont été ajoutés pour accroître encore davantage la sécurité du site.

Utilisation et communication des renseignements obtenus pour le Programme

Que fait le PCAF avec les renseignements fournis sur les formulaires de demande?

Les renseignements obtenus par le PCAF et par les contrôleurs des armes à feu (CAF) fédéraux et provinciaux en vertu de la Loi sur les armes à feu au sujet de la formation en matière de sécurité servent uniquement à déterminer l'admissibilité d'une personne à un permis.

Les renseignements figurant dans les demandes de permis ou d'autorisation (p. ex., cession d'arme à feu sans restriction à un nouveau propriétaire, autorisation de port ou de transport d'arme à feu à autorisation restreinte ou d'arme à feu prohibée) sont utilisés uniquement par un CAF afin de déterminer si le demandeur est admissible au privilège en question ou peut pratiquer l'activité mentionnée.

Les renseignements fournis au moment de l'enregistrement d'une arme servent à établir la catégorie de l'arme ou à délivrer un certificat. Avant qu'un certificat d'enregistrement soit délivré, refusé ou révoqué, le directeur de l'enregistrement doit vérifier si le titulaire de permis est habilité à posséder des armes de la classe d'armes à feu indiquée.

Les formulaires du Programme des armes à feu comportent des renseignements personnels, tels que nom, adresse et renseignements médicaux. Où ces données sont-elles conservées et qui peut les consulter?

Ces renseignements sont conservés dans le Système canadien d'information relativement aux armes à feu (SCIRAF), une banque de données du PCAF. Le PCAF suit des règles strictes selon lesquelles l'accès à ces renseignements est réservé aux employés qui ont besoin de les consulter dans l'exercice de leurs fonctions. Ainsi, seul un CAF ou un préposé aux armes à feu délégué est habilité à consulter des renseignements personnels pour vérifier si une personne est admissible à un permis. Les policiers peuvent aussi vérifier l'état d'un permis avant une intervention. Cependant, ils ne peuvent jamais voir les noms des répondants ou des conjoints, ni les renseignements médicaux.

Le PCAF communique-t-il les renseignements personnels recueillis pour le Programme des armes à feu à d'autres organismes ou à des entreprises privées?

Les mesures nécessaires ont été prises pour protéger la confidentialité de vos renseignements personnels. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur vos droits, consultez InfoSource, une publication du gouvernement du Canada qui est disponible en ligne, dans les principales bibliothèques, dans les bureaux de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels du gouvernement et dans les bureaux de circonscription de députés. Les fichiers de renseignements personnels liés au Programme canadien des armes à feu comprennent les suivants : GRC PPU 007, PPU 037, PPU 100 et PPU 101.