Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Bankruptcy and Insolvency

The RCMP Commercial Crime Sections cooperate with the Superintendent of Bankruptcy to help maintain the integrity of the Canadian bankruptcy and insolvency system by investigating related criminal activities.

The insolvency process is a legal proceeding under the provisions of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act , an act that is administered by the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy. If a person or company is unable to meet its debt obligations, it is said to be insolvent. When that happens, there are three main options under the Act:

  • Bankruptcy - Assets of an individual or company are liquidated and the proceeds are given to people who are owed money.
  • Proposal - An offer is made to people who are owed money in an effort to settle the debt.
  • Receivership - A secured creditor (often a bank or other large creditor represented by a receiver) comes in and generally takes control of the assets of the company. This usually applies to companies, not individuals

There are also three main players:

  • Debtor - The person or company that owes the money.
  • Creditor - The person or company that is owed the money.
  • Trustee - The people who are licensed to administer the proceedings.

Most crimes in this area are committed by debtors when they hide or dispose of assets fraudulently, before or after being bankrupt; or when they fail to comply with the duties of a bankrupt.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Faillites et Insolvabilité

Les sections des délits commerciaux de la GRC collaborent avec le surintendant des faillites pour aider à maintenir l’intégrité du régime des faillites et de l’insolvabilité en enquêtant sur des activités criminelles connexes.

Le processus d’insolvabilité est un processus judiciaire prévu par la Loi sur la faillite et l’insolvabilité , qui est administrée par le Bureau du surintendant des faillites. Lorsqu’une personne ou une compagnie est incapable de faire honneur à ses obligations à l’égard de ses créanciers, on dit qu’elle est insolvable. Dans une telle situation, la Loi prévoit trois options principales :

  • La faillite - Les biens de la personne ou de la compagnie sont liquidés et les produits sont distribués aux personnes en droit de recevoir l’argent.
  • La proposition - Une offre est présentée aux personnes en droit de recevoir l’argent pour tenter de régler la dette.
  • La mise sous séquestre - Un créancier garanti (souvent une banque ou un créancier important représenté par un séquestre) entre en jeu et prend généralement le contrôle des biens de la compagnie. Cela s’applique habituellement à des compagnies et non à des personnes.

Il y a aussi trois parties principales :

  • Le débiteur - la personne ou la compagnie qui doit l’argent.
  • Le créditeur - la personne ou la compagnie en droit de recevoir l’argent.
  • Le syndic - les personnes habilitées en vertu d’une licence à administrer le processus.

De nombreux crimes sont commis par des débiteurs qui cachent des biens ou en disposent de manière frauduleuse avant ou après la faillite, ou qui ne respectent pas les devoirs du failli.