Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Commissioners Advisory Committee on Visible Minorities

The Commissioner’s Advisory Committee on Visible Minorities (CACVM) was established in 1986 to provide advice on policies related to recruiting, training and the advancement and promotion of visible minorities in the RCMP. CACVM also provides advice to the Commissioner and his Senior Executives on fair working environments as well as community and inter-cultural relations.

The CACVM is proud of the Regular Members of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) who go above and beyond the call of duty in the communities they serve. These men and women spend countless hours outside their regular work schedule volunteering in their communities. Throughout the year supervisors across the RCMP will identify Regular Members who have contributed, in an exemplary way, to the visible minority communities they serve.

Outstanding contributions by Regular Members in Visible Minority communities

Corporal Calvin Byard

Corporal (Cpl) Calvin Byard is one example of a Regular Member of the RCMP that has done outstanding work in the visible minority communities he serves. Cpl. Byard was the supervisor of the RCMP Preston Unit which includes North Preston, East Preston, Cherry Brook and Lake Loon, NS. North Preston has Canada’s highest concentration of Black Canadians, many of whom are descendants of the first Black settlers in Canada. Cpl. Byard has provided leadership within the RCMP and the Black community by playing an active role in community development. Cpl. Byard is a positive male role model in the lives of many youth who otherwise would not have the benefit of such guidance. His exceptional dedication to his community has enhanced the lives of many youth as recognizing their potential and encouraging their participation in community events.

This year alone Cpl. Byard led the “TrySport Camp” initiative in the Preston area; the two-day football camp was aimed at exposing 45 children and young teens to football: promoting teamwork, leadership, and building self-esteem. He was also instrumental in organizing a “father-son” camp where the participants spent a weekend camping and taking part in activities such as archery, climbing, making bonfires. Calvin also participated in the Tim Horton’s children camp and spearheaded a community clean-up in Lake Loon and Cherry Brook. He also regularly serves breakfast to school children at Nelson Whynder Elementary school, leads the Stetson and Spurs Youth Group for the Preston area and is active in a community garden plot where he donates the produce to the food bank and seniors community. He also finds the time to coach hockey and baseball and serves on the executive committee for both sports in his community.

Cpl. Byard is a dedicated and enthusiastic police officer who has shown tremendous initiative in community involvement. His efforts in the community are unparalleled and have had a profound impact on youth-police relationships.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Comité consultatif du Commissaire sur les minorités visibles

Établi en 1986, le Comité consultatif du Commissaire sur les minorités visibles (CCCMV) a pour mandat de donner des conseils sur les politiques de recrutement, de formation, d’avancement et de promotion des minorités visibles à la GRC. Il conseille aussi le commissaire et ses cadres supérieurs sur la création de milieux de travail équitables et les relations communautaires et interculturelles.

Le Comité est fier des membres réguliers de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) qui vont au-delà de leur devoir dans les collectivités qu’ils servent. Ces hommes et ces femmes consacrent d'innombrables heures de leur temps libre, à titre bénévole, au service de leurs concitoyens. Tout au long de l’année, les superviseurs de la GRC sélectionneront les membres réguliers qui auront contribué de façon exemplaire aux collectivités de minorités visibles dans lesquelles ils travaillent.

Contributions exceptionnelles de membres réguliers dans des collectivités de minorités visibles

Le caporal Calvin Byard

Le caporal Calvin Byard est un exemple d’un membre régulier de la GRC qui a fait un travail exceptionnel dans les collectivités de minorités visibles qu’il sert. Il supervisait le Groupe de la GRC à Preston, qui sert les collectivités de North Preston, d’East Preston, de Cherry Brook et de Lake Loon (N.‑É.). North Preston compte la plus grande concentration de Canadiens de race noire au pays, dont beaucoup sont des descendants des premiers colons noirs. Le cap. Byard a exercé un leadership au sein de la GRC et de la collectivité noire en jouant un rôle actif dans le développement communautaire. Il est un modèle masculin positif dans la vie de bien des jeunes qui n’auraient autrement pas bénéficié d’un tel encadrement. Fortement engagé à servir sa communauté, il a amélioré la vie de nombreux jeunes en reconnaissant leur potentiel et en les encourageant à participer aux activités communautaires.

Cette année, le cap. Byard a dirigé l’initiative « TrySport Camp » dans la région de Preston; ce camp de football de deux jours visait à initier 45 enfants et adolescents au football pour développer leurs aptitudes au travail d’équipe et au leadership, et renforcer leur estime de soi. Le cap. Byard a aussi joué un rôle déterminant dans l’organisation d’un camp « père-fils » : pendant une fin de semaine de camping, les participants ont fait du tir à l’arc et de l’escalade, et se sont réunis autour de feux de camp. Il a en outre participé au camp Tim Horton pour les enfants et mené une opération de nettoyage communautaire à Lake Loon et à Cherry Brook. Le cap. Byard sert régulièrement le petit déjeuner aux élèves de l’école élémentaire Nelson Whynder, dirige le groupe jeunesse Stetsons and Spurs pour la région de Preston et cultive une parcelle de jardin communautaire, dont il donne les récoltes à la banque alimentaire et aux personnes âgées de la collectivité. Il trouve même le temps d’entraîner des joueurs de hockey et de football, et de siéger au comité exécutif de ces deux sports dans sa collectivité.

Le cap. Byard est un policier dévoué et enthousiaste qui a fait preuve d’un engagement communautaire exemplaire. Ses efforts dans la collectivité sont inégalés et ont eu une profonde incidence sur les relations entre les jeunes et la police.