Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Melissa Ann REHOREK

Cold Case Files

Melissa Ann REHOREK

Location : Cochrane, Alberta

Details : On Wednesday, September 16, 1976, the strangled body of Melissa REHOREK was found in a ditch along a rural gravel road approximately 23 km west of the Calgary, Alberta City limits and 2 km north of Hwy #1.

Melissa moved to Calgary, Alberta from Windsor, Ontario during the spring of 1976. She resided at the YWCA and was employed as a chambermaid at the International Hotel. Melissa was last seen at approximately 9:30 P.M. on September 15, 1976, when she left the YWCA alone, with plans to hitchhike west along Hwy #1 out of the city for her two days off from work. It is known that Melissa caught a transit bus and traveled west bound until she got off the bus near McMahon Stadium in Calgary, Alberta. Melissa was known to enjoy hitchhiking to various places and preferred to ride with truckers.

On September 16, 1976, Melissa’s fully clothed body was located in the ditch along the rural road. None of her personal belongs were missing and everything, including her money, was located in her carrying bag at the scene. A grey colored half-ton vehicle was noted to have been seen in the area on September 15th.

Investigators believe that this case is connected to the unsolved homicide of Barbara Jean MACLEAN which occurred near Calgary, Alberta on February 26th, 1977.

If you have any information about this case, please contact "K" (AB) Division Serious Crimes Branch South Airdrie at 403-420-4900 or Crime Stoppers 1-800-222-8477. Airdrie GIS File: 1990-1213.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Melissa Ann REHOREK

Affaires non résolues

Melissa Ann REHOREK

Endroit : Cochrane, Alberta

Détails :Le mercredi 16 septembre 1976, Melissa REHOREK a été retrouvée étranglée dans un fossé bordant une route rurale en gravier, à quelque 23 km à l’ouest des limites de la ville de Calgary (Alberta) et à 2 km au nord de la route 1.

Melissa est arrivée à Calgary (Alberta) depuis Windsor (Ontario) au printemps 1976. Elle habitait au YWCA et travaillait comme femme de chambre à l’hôtel International. Melissa a été vue pour la dernière fois le 15 septembre 1976 vers 21 h 30, alors qu’elle quittait seule le YWCA. Elle prévoyait faire de l’auto-stop le long de la route 1 à l’extérieur de la ville pendant ses deux jours de congé. On sait que Melissa a pris un autobus urbain en direction ouest, puis en est descendue près du stade McMahon de Calgary (Alberta). Melissa aimait faire de l’auto-stop et préférait voyager avec des camionneurs.

Le 16 septembre 1976, le corps entièrement vêtu de Melissa a été découvert dans le fossé bordant une route rurale. Tous ses effets personnels, y compris son argent, ont été retrouvés dans son sac, sur les lieux. Un véhicule gris d’une demi-tonne a été remarqué dans les environs le 15 septembre.

Les enquêteurs pensent que cette affaire est liée à l’homicide non résolu de Barbara Jean MACLEAN, qui a eu lieu près de Calgary (Alberta) le 26 février 1977.

Si vous avez des renseignements sur cette affaire, appelez le Service divisionnaire des crimes graves, Sud de l’Alberta, Division K, à Airdrie au 403 420-4900 ou Échec au crime au 1 800 222-8477. Dossier de la SEG d’Airdrie : 1990-1213.