Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

David Jon MALLOY

Cold Case Files

Location : North Vancouver, British Columbia (BC)

Details : David Jon MALLOY was a cab driver for Yellow Cabs of Vancouver. He was 44 yrs. old at the time of his death on March 19th, 1996. On Sunday March 17th, 1996, he started his shift at 2:00 p.m. He was working primarily in the West End of Vancouver on that day.

At 9:39 P.M. North Vancouver RCMP received a 911 call advising that a male was injured and laying in the alley in the 700 Blk. of West 20th St. RCMP members and Emergency Health Services found MALLOY laying in the alley suffering from multiple stab wounds. He was conscious but appeared to be in shock. Witnesses reported hearing a vehicle in the alley and a crash just prior to reporting the incident. They reported seeing a yellow cab departing the scene. The witnesses did not get a look at the driver.

MALLOY told a witness that he was a cab driver for Yellow Cabs, his cab had been stolen, and that he had been robbed and stabbed. This information was passed on to the attending police officers and it was immediately dispatched to all police agencies and cab companies as a "be-on-the-lookout-for". MALLOY was able to tell police that he had been stabbed by a black male in his late 20's, that he had picked up the male at Seymour and Robson St. in Vancouver, and that the male had stolen his wallet. MALLOY was admitted to Lions Gate Hospital suffering from 24 stab wounds to his back, neck, head and left hand. He was in critical condition.

The Yellow Cab Co. dispatched the information about MALLOY’s cab being stolen and the fact that he was robbed over their computer dispatch system. At approx. 9:49 p.m. one of their cab drivers saw the cab travelling east bound in the 100 block of West Hastings Street in downtown Vancouver.

The cab driver was heading in the same direction and followed the stolen cab for a few blocks. The cab driver eventually lost the stolen cab in the traffic. He got a good enough look at the suspect driving the cab to supply the following description; a dark skinned male, with a goatee, wearing glasses and a white ball cap. This witness was later able to provide police with a composite drawing of the suspect. The stolen Yellow Cab was located at 10:03 P.M. at Dunlevy and Cordova St. in Vancouver by another Yellow Taxi employee. A forensic examination of the cab failed to turn up any evidence that would help to identify a suspect.

David Jon MALLOY died from his injuries in Lions Gate Hospital on March 19th, 1996 two days after the incident. This murder remains unsolved.

Contact : Anyone having any information regarding this unsolved homicide is asked to contact Sgt. Gerry Webb of the North Vancouver Serious Crime Unit at 604-983-7417or call Crimestoppers at 1-800-222-8477.

File : North Vancouver Detachment File 1996-9391

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

David Jon MALLOY

Affaires non résolues

Lieu : North Vancouver, Columbie-Britannique (C.-B.)

Détails : David Jon MALLOY était chauffeur de taxi pour la compagnie Yellow Cab de Vancouver. Il avait 44 ans lorsqu’il est mort le 19 mars 1996.

Le dimanche 17 mars 1996, il prend son quart à 14 h. Ce jour-là, il travaille principalement dans le West End de Vancouver.

À 21 h 39, le Détachement de la GRC de North Vancouver reçoit un appel 911 indiquant qu’un homme blessé git dans la ruelle du bloc 700 de la 20e Rue Ouest. Les membres de la GRC et des Services d'urgences de santé trouvent MALLOY étendu dans la ruelle; il a été poignardé à plusieurs reprises. Il est conscient mais semble en état de choc. Les témoins indiquent avoir entendu un véhicule dans la ruelle et un fracas juste avant de signaler l’incident, ajoutant avoir vu un taxi jaune quitter les lieux. Les témoins n’ont pas eu le temps de voir le conducteur.

MALLOY a dit à un témoin qu’il était chauffeur de taxi pour la compagnie Yellow Cab, qu’on l’avait cambriolé et poignardé, puis qu’on avait volé son taxi. L’information a été communiquée aux policiers présents et immédiatement diffusée à tous les services de police et compagnies de taxis au moyen d’un avis de surveillance. MALLOY a pu dire aux policiers qu’il avait été poignardé par un homme de race noire dans la fin de la vingtaine qu’il avait pris au coin des rues Seymour et Robson à Vancouver et que celui-ci lui avait volé son portefeuille. MALLOY a été admis à l’hôpital Lions Gate souffrant de 24 blessures par arme blanche à la tête, au coup, au dos et à la main gauche. Il était dans un état critique.

La compagnie de taxis Yellow Cab a diffusé un message sur son système de répartition informatique pour informer ses membres que MALLOY avait été cambriolé et s’était fait voler son taxi. Vers 21 h 49, un chauffeur de la compagnie a aperçu le taxi de MALLOY rouler en direction est, à hauteur du bloc 100 de la rue Hastings Ouest à Vancouver.

Le chauffeur de taxi, qui allait dans la même direction, a suivi la voiture volée sur quelques pâtés de maisons, avant de perdre sa trace dans la circulation. Il a cependant suffisamment vu le conducteur pour en faire la description suivante : homme au teint foncé, portant une barbiche, des lunettes et une casquette blanche. Ce témoin a ensuite pu fournir aux policiers un portrait-robot du suspect. Le taxi volé a été retrouvé à 22 h 03 au coin des rues Dunlevy et Cordova à Vancouver par un autre employé de la compagnie Yellow Cab. L’expertise judiciaire du véhicule n’a livré aucun élément susceptible de mener à l’identification d’un suspect.

David Jon MALLOY est mort des suites de ses blessures à l’hôpital Lions Gate le 19 mars 1996, soit deux jours après l’incident. Ce meurtre n’a toujours pas été élucidé.

Contactez-nous : Toute personne ayant des informations sur cette affaire est priée de communiquer avec le serg. Gerry WEBB de la Section des crimes graves du Détachement de la GRC de North Vancouver, au (604) 983-7417, ou d’appeler la ligne d’Échec au crime au 1-800-222-8477.

Dossier : 1996-9391 du Détachement de la GRC de North Vancouver