Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Barbara Jean MACLEAN

Cold Case Files

Barbara Jean MACLEAN

Barbara Jean MACLEAN

click to enlarge

Location : Calgary, Alberta

Details : On February 26th, 1977, the fully-clothed, strangled body of Barbara MACLEAN was discovered by a man walking his dog along a gravel road near 80th Avenue and 6th Street N.E, just north of the Calgary, Alberta City limits.

Barbara MACLEAN moved from Nova Scotia to Calgary in October, 1976, and was working at the Palliser Square Branch of the Royal Bank. She began living with her boyfriend in November of 1976. Barbara was described as person who enjoyed socializing and one who frequented the local bars.

On the evening of February 25th, 1977, Barbara was at the Highlander Bar in Calgary, Alberta socializing with family and friends. At one point in the evening, Barbara got into an argument with her intoxicated boyfriend who was evicted from the bar. Barbara returned to the bar while her boyfriend waited outside in his 1970 dark green Volvo vehicle which was parked in the parking lot. At 2:30 A.M. Barbara returned to the vehicle where she and her boyfriend argued again. The pair split after a heated argument leaving Barbara alone in the parking lot. Barbara, somewhat intoxicated, made the fatal decision to hitchhike to a party, however, she never arrived there. The person who gave Barbara a ride is responsible for her death. It is believed that Barbara was murdered at a location different from where her body was located.

Investigators believe that this case is connected to the unsolved homicide of Melissa Ann REHOREK which occurred near Calgary, Alberta on September 16th, 1976.

If you have any information about this case, please contact "K" (AB) Division Serious Crimes Branch South Airdrie at 403-420-4900 or Crime Stoppers 1-800-222-8477. Airdrie GIS File: 1990-1213.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Barbara Jean MACLEAN

Affaires non résolues

Barbara Jean MACLEAN

Barbara Jean MACLEAN

cliquez pour l'agrandir

Endroit : Calgary, Alberta

Détails : Le 26 février 1977, un homme qui promenait son chien le long d’une route en gravier située à proximité de la 80e avenue et de la 6e rue N.-E., juste au nord des limites de la ville de Calgary (Alberta), a découvert le corps sans vie de Barbara MACLEAN. La jeune femme, qui était entièrement vêtue, avait été étranglée.

Barbara MACLEAN, qui était arrivée à Calgary depuis la Nouvelle-Écosse en octobre 1977, travaillait à la succursale de Palliser Square de la Banque Royale. Elle a emménagé avec son petit ami en novembre 1976. Barbara aimait rencontrer des gens et fréquentait les bars de la région.

Au soir du 25 février 1977, Barbara se trouvait au bar Highlander de Calgary (Alberta) avec des membres de sa famille et des amis. Pendant la soirée, Barbara et son petit ami, qui était ivre et a été expulsé du bar, se sont disputés. Barbara est retournée dans le bar, tandis que son petit ami l’attendait dans le stationnement, à bord de sa Volvo 1970 vert-foncé. Barbara est ressortie à 2 h 30 et s’est à nouveau disputée avec son petit ami. Après une discussion animée, ils se sont séparés et Barbara s’est retrouvée seule dans le stationnement. Un peu ivre, Barbara a pris la décision fatale de faire de l’auto-stop pour se rendre à une soirée. Elle n’y est jamais arrivée. La personne qui a emmené Barbara dans son véhicule est responsable de sa mort. On pense que Barbara n’a pas été tuée à l’endroit où l’on a découvert son corps.

Les enquêteurs pensent que cette affaire est liée à l’homicide non résolu de Melissa Ann REHOREK, qui a eu lieu près de Calgary (Alberta) le 16 septembre 1976.

Si vous avez des renseignements sur cette affaire, appelez le Service divisionnaire des crimes graves, Sud de l’Alberta, Division K, à Airdrie au 403 420-4900 ou Échec au crime au 1 800 222-8477. Dossier de la SEG d’Airdrie : 1990-1213.