Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Rhona Margaret DUNCAN

Cold Case Files

Name : Homicide of Rhona Margaret DUNCAN (Age 16)

Location : North Vancouver, British Columbia (BC)

Details : On the evening of July 16th 1976, 16 yr. old Rhona DUNCAN and some friends attended a house party on East Queens Ave. in North Vancouver, BC.

There were about 60 teenagers from school at the party. At about 1:00 A.M. Rhona and her girlfriend, Marion Bogues decided to walk home. They left with Bogues boyfriend, Owen Parry, and DUNCAN’s boyfriend, Shawn Mapoles. The boys went there separate ways as they got close to their homes and Bogues and DUNCAN continued on by themselves. DUNCAN and Bogues parted company near Bogues residence. Rhona DUNCAN was five blocks from her house. It was about 2:45 A.M. at this time.

At about 3:00 A.M. a neighbor of DUNCAN’s heard the sound of a male and female arguing outside of her residence. She woke her husband and he went out to investigate. The husband went to the back of his residence and heard the male and female arguing. He yelled, “What’s going on here?” and the noises stopped. He did not hear anything else so he went back to bed. The neighbor lived three houses away from the DUNCAN residence.

DUNCAN’s partially clad body was located the next morning at about 09:00 a.m. in some long grass behind the neighbors garage. She had been raped and strangled. Cause of death was determined to be from manual strangulation.

Investigators interviewed all of DUNCAN’s friends and acquaintances. Numerous polygraph examinations were conducted but the case remained unsolved. In 1998 with the advances in DNA technology a DNA profile was obtained of Rhona DUNCAN’s attacker.

A list of 172 males consisting of all of DUNCAN’s acquaintances and all of the suspects on the file was compiled. Investigators have obtained DNA samples from the vast majority of the subjects on the list and compared them with the suspect DNA with negative results. All of the higher priority subjects on the list have been eliminated. Many of the remaining subjects are either deceased or have not been located.

Contact : Anyone having information is asked to contact Sgt. Gerry Webb of the North Vancouver Detachment Serious Crime Section at 604-983-7417 or call Crimestoppers at 1-800-222-8477.

File : North Vancouver Detachment File 1976-18404

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Rhona Margaret DUNCAN

Affaires non résolues

Nom : Homicide de Rhona Margaret DUNCAN (16 ans)

Lieu : North Vancouver, C.-B. (Columbie-Britannique)

Détails : Dans la soirée du 16 juillet 1976, Rhona DUNCAN, 16 ans, se rend avec des amis à une fête organisée dans une résidence située sur l’avenue Queens Est à North Vancouver (C.-B.)

Une soixantaine d’adolescents de l’école sont présents à cette fête. Vers 1 h du matin, Rhona et son amie Marion Bogues décident de rentrer à pied à la maison. Elles quittent la fête en compagnie de leurs petits amis respectifs, Owen Parry et Shawn Mapoles. Arrivés près de leurs maisons, les garçons quittent les filles qui continuent seules leur chemin. Les deux jeunes filles se séparent près de la maison des Bogues, située à trois rues de celle des DUNCAN. Il est environ 2 h 45.

Vers 3 h du matin, une voisine des DUNCAN entend un homme et une femme se disputer dehors. Elle réveille son mari qui va voir ce qui se passe. En sortant à l’arrière de la maison, celui-ci entend un homme et une femme se disputer. Il crie alors « qu’est-ce qui se passe là? » et le bruit s’arrête. N’entendant plus rien, il retourne se coucher. Les DUNCAN habitaient à trois maisons de ce couple.

Le corps partiellement vêtu de Rhona DUNCAN est retrouvé le matin suivant vers 9 h, dans l’herbe haute qui pousse derrière le garage des voisins. Elle a été violée et étranglée à mains nues. L’enquête montre qu’elle est morte par strangulation.

Les enquêteurs ont interrogé tous les amis et connaissances de Rhona DUNCAN. Une foule d’examens polygraphiques ont été effectués sans qu’on parvienne à élucider l’affaire. En 1998, grâce aux progrès des techniques d’analyse de l’ADN, on réussit à dresser le profil d’identification génétique de l’agresseur de Rhona DUNCAN.

Une liste de 172 hommes, des connaissances de DUNCAN ou des suspects, est dressée. Les enquêteurs ont obtenu un échantillon biologique de la vaste majorité d’entre eux, mais la comparaison avec le profil génétique du suspect s’est révélée négative. Tous les principaux suspects figurant sur la liste ont été éliminés. De nombreux autres sont décédés ou n’ont pu être localisés.

Contactez-nous : Toute personne ayant des informations sur cette affaire est priée de communiquer avec le serg. Gerry Webb de la Section des crimes graves du Détachement de la GRC de North Vancouver, au (604) 983-7417, ou d’appeler la ligne d’Échec au crime au 1-800-222-8477.

Dossier : 1976-18404 du Détachement de la GRC de North Vancouver