Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Organizational structure

The Royal Canadian Mounted Police is organized under the authority of the RCMP Act. In accordance with the Act, it is headed by the Commissioner, who, under the direction of the Minister of Public Safety Canada, has the control and management of the Force and all matters connected therewith.

The Royal Canadian Mounted Police enforces throughout Canada laws made by, or under, the authority of the Canadian Parliament. Administration of justice within the provinces, including enforcement of the Criminal Code, is part of the power and duty delegated to the provincial governments. The RCMP provides police services under the terms of policing agreements to all provinces (except Ontario and Quebec), Yukon, the Northwest Territories and Nunavut, and under separate municipal policing agreements to 180 municipalities.

Organizational structure of the RCMP

The Force is divided into 15 Divisions, plus Headquarters, Ottawa. Each division is managed by a Commanding Officer and is alphabetically designated. Divisions roughly approximate provincial boundaries with their headquarters located in respective provincial or territorial capitals (except "A", Ottawa; "C", Montreal; and "E", Vancouver). Air and Marine Services supply support to the divisions. RCMP Depot Division (Training Academy) is located in Regina, Saskatchewan, and the Canadian Police College is located in Ottawa, Ontario.

Actual strength

The on-strength establishment of the force as of August 2, 2013:

  • Commissioner: 1
  • Deputy Commissioners: 6
  • Assistant Commissioners: 27
  • Chief Superintendents: 58
  • Superintendents: 170
  • Inspectors: 380
  • Corps Sergeants Major: 1
  • Sergeants Major: 3
  • Staff Sergeants Major: 15
  • Staff Sergeants: 862
  • Sergeants: 2,015
  • Corporals: 3,586
  • Constables: 11,566
  • Special Constables: 68
  • Civilian Members: 3,794
  • Public Servants: 6,088
  • Total: 28,640

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Structure organisationnelle

La Gendarmerie royale du Canada est constituée sous le régime de la Loi sur la GRC. En vertu de cette loi, son administration et sa direction sont confiées au Commissaire, qui relève du Ministre de la Sécurité publique Canada.

La Gendarmerie royale du Canada applique partout au pays les lois élaborées et adoptées par le Parlement. L'administration de la justice dans les provinces, y compris l'application du Code criminel, fait partie des pouvoirs et des responsabilités délégués aux gouvernements provinciaux. La GRC fournit à contrat des services de police dans toutes les provinces (sauf le Québec et l'Ontario), au Yukon, les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et au Nunavut, en vertu d'ententes distinctes, dans 180 municipalités.

Structure organisationnelle de la Gendarmerie Royale du Canada

Chacune des 15 divisions de la Gendarmerie est dirigée par un commandant et désignée par une lettre de l'alphabet. Les limites de chaque division correspondent à peu de choses près aux frontières provinciales. La plupart des divisions ont leur quartier général dans la capitale provinciale ou territoriale, sauf les divisions nationale, C, O et E, dont les quartiers généraux se trouvent respectivement à Ottawa, à Montréal, à London et à Vancouver. Toutes les divisions jouissent du soutien des services de l'air et de la marine. L'École de la GRC se trouve à Regina (Saskatchewan) et le Collège canadien de police, à Ottawa (Ontario).

Effectif de la Gendarmerie par grade

Au 1 juillet 2018, l'effectif réel de la Gendarmerie est réparti comme suit :

  • commissaire : 1
  • sous-commissaires : 5
  • commissaires adjoints : 31
  • surintendants principaux : 57
  • surintendants : 190
  • inspecteurs : 328
  • sergent-major du corps : 1
  • sergents-majors : 7
  • sergents-majors d'état major : 13
  • sergents d'état-major : 829
  • sergents : 1 989
  • caporaux : 3 510
  • gendarmes : 11 764
  • gendarmes spéciaux : 124
  • employés de la fonction publique : 7 428
  • membres civils : 3 576
  • Total : 29 853