Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

RCMP Involvement in the Sisters In Spirit Initiative

Serving Canada's Aboriginal Peoples

Navigating the Missing Persons Process

In 2005, the Native Women's Association of Canada (NWAC) secured funding to establish the Sister's In Spirit (SIS) initiative. The five-year research, education and policy initiative was designed to address the root causes, circumstances and trends of missing and murdered Aboriginal women and girls. Since the SIS initiative began, NWAC has published three reports on this topic, culminating in their final report, What Their Stories Tell Us: Research findings from the Sisters In Spirit initiative.

The RCMP is ever-mindful of the prevalence of violence against Aboriginal women and continues to work with other law enforcement partners, as well as Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal agencies, to address cases of missing or murdered Aboriginal women.

Through a partnership with RCMP National Aboriginal Policing Services (NAPS), NWAC developed a Community Education Toolkit titled, Navigating the Missing Persons Process. The toolkit can be utilized at the community level by friends and family members of individuals who have gone missing. It is a valuable resource for RCMP employees and the communities we serve.

NAPS has a dedicated member that regularly liaises with NWAC and continues to work in partnership with NWAC and other stakeholders to contribute to the reduction of violence against Aboriginal women and girls.

To obtain a copy of this toolkit, please contact the Native Women's Association of Canada.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Participation de la GRC à l’initiative Sœurs par l’esprit

Serving Canada's Aboriginal Peoples

En 2005, l'Association des femmes autochtones du Canada (AFAC) s'est procuré des fonds pour lancer l'initiative Sœurs par l'esprit. Cette initiative stratégique, fondée sur cinq ans de recherche et de sensibilisation, visait à étudier les raisons profondes, les circonstances et les tendances liées aux disparitions et aux meurtres de femmes et de filles autochtones. Depuis le début de ses travaux, l'AFAC a publié trois rapports sur ce sujet et a conclu par sa dernière publication intitulée What Their Stories Tell Us: Research findings from the Sisters in Spirit initiative .

La GRC a toujours été consciente de la fréquence des violences à l'égard des femmes autochtones et continue à collaborer avec ses partenaires de l'application de la loi ainsi qu'avec des organismes autochtones et non autochtones afin de résoudre des cas de femmes autochtones disparues ou assassinées.

En partenariat avec les Services nationaux de police autochtones (SNPA), l'AFAC a créé une trousse d'éducation communautaire, « Que faire si une personne disparaît ? », qui peut être utilisée à l'échelle de la collectivité par des amis et des membres de la famille de personnes portées disparues. Il s'agit d'une ressource précieuse pour les employés de la GRC et les collectivités que celle-ci protège.

Les SNPA et l'AFAC restent en relation par l'intermédiaire d'un membre désigné des SNPA. Ils continuent à travailler ensemble et avec d'autres intervenants en vue de réduire la violence contre les femmes et les filles autochtones.

Pour obtenir une copie de cette trousse, veuillez contacter l'Association des femmes autochtones du Canada.