Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

RCMP Alberta - Features 2015

An All-Access Policing Experience

Boyle members

Boyle Detachment

Following the annual Wildberry Festival parade, RCMP and Alberta Sheriff members welcomed the public to the Boyle Detachment for an all-access experience of policing in their community. Approximately 300 people stopped by to get an up-close look at the area’s emergency vehicles and step behind the closed doors in the Boyle Detachment. Visitors were encouraged to ask questions as they toured the detachment and tried on various pieces of RCMP kit. We hope everyone enjoyed the opportunity to step inside our world. Thanks for coming!

#GameOn for Monty

Monty and Mistiko

It was #GameOn for Monty the Safety Bear when he stopped by the 2015 Western Canada Summer Games in the Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo. Monty took time to visit with volunteers and cheer on the athletes as he toured the grounds and caught a couple of sporting events. He even made a new best friend named Mistiko - the official mascot of the 2015 Western Canada Summer Games.

Discovering the Changes

Dave Rook and Cpl. Laurel Kading

Six decades after joining the RCMP, retired Staff Sergeant, Dave Rook is learning policing has a whole new look. Rook recently stopped by the St. Albert Detachment’s booth at the Public Safety Open House to admire the newest police cruisers and chat with officers. As one of the first members posted to the St. Albert Detachment back in the 1960s, he certainly had plenty of local stories to share. Thanks for stopping by!

Friendship and Sportsmanship

Cst. Scott Lowe and student

In an effort to strengthen bonds between the Woodland Cree First Nation and Peace River youth, members of Peace River Detachment arranged for three schools to go head to head in a ball hockey challenge. Cst. Scott Lowe arranged for students from Cadotte Lake School, Glenmary School, and Good Shepherd School to participate in the competition on May 27 and 28, 2015. Two Cadotte Lake School students sang “O" Canada” in Cree, kicking the event off with a cultural experience for the Glenmary and Good Shepherd students.

The challenge’s theme was “Friendship and Sportsmanship” and its purpose was to encourage healthy partnerships between the schools. Events like these are planned to inspire school spirit within the Woodland Cree First Nation youth.

During the competition a player from each team received a sportsmanship award for exemplifying values of great sportsmanship. Though some players were singled out for their model efforts, every participant displayed these values, along with high levels of skill and considerable effort. At the end of the second evening, Cst. Lowe presented plaques to each school in celebration of the competition.

A sincere thank you is extended to the Goreman family of Peace River Subway, who provided the students with a Subway dinner, and to all of the staff who assisted Cst. Lowe in making this challenge possible.

For more information about our Aboriginal Policing Services, please see: http://www.rcmp-grc.gc.ca/aboriginal-autochtone/index-eng.htm

Community Justice Award

Cpl. Howrish - Community Justice Award

Alberta Justice and Solicitor General awarded one of our own for their continued devotion to the Cold Lake community. On June 5, 2015, Corporal Howrish of the Cold Lake detachment received a Community Justice Award. The award acknowledged his dedication and innovative approaches to preventing and raising awareness of domestic violence.

Cpl. Howrish has co-facilitated A Better Way since 2013. A Better Way is a holistic and multi-agency initiative in Cold Lake that is aimed at men and women involved in domestic violence. This program gives members the skills and education necessary to resolve conflicts within their relationships.

Cpl. Howrish’s fellow facilitators and the program participants have credited his leadership and commitment as being key factors to the ongoing success of A Better Way.

For more information on A Better Way, please visit: www.coldlake.com/content/better-way

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

GRC en Alberta - En vedette 2015

Journée portes ouvertes au détachement de Boyle

les membres de Boyle

dtachement de Boyle

Après le défilé annuel du festival Wildberry, les membres de la GRC et les shérifs de l’Alberta ont accueilli le public au détachement de Boyle pour lui faire découvrir les services de police offerts dans sa communauté. Environ 300 personnes sont venues examiner de près les véhicules d’urgence utilisés dans le secteur et visiter les coulisses du détachement de Boyle. Elles ont aussi été invitées à poser des questions et à essayer un éventail d’articles de la trousse de la GRC. Nous espérons que tout le monde a apprécié la chance d’explorer notre milieu. Merci de votre visite!

Monty était #PrêtpourlesJeux

Monty et Mistiko

Monty l’Ours prudent était #prêtpourlesJeux d’été de l’Ouest canadien de 2015 lorsqu’il est venu faire un tour dans la municipalité régionale de Wood Buffalo. Monty a profité de l’occasion pour rencontrer les bénévoles et encourager les athlètes tandis qu’il visitait les installations et regardait des évènements sportifs. Il s’est même fait un nouvel ami appelé Mistiko, mascotte officielle des Jeux d’été de l’Ouest canadien de 2015.

Au fil des changements

Dave Rook et cap. Laurel Kading

Six décennies après son entrée à la GRC, le sergent d’état-major retraité Dave Rook découvre que les services de police ont fait peau neuve. Rook a récemment visité le kiosque du détachement de St. Albert pendant la Journée portes ouvertes sur la sécurité publique pour admirer les nouvelles autopatrouilles et jaser avec les policiers. L’un des premiers policiers affectés au détachement de St. Albert dans les années 1960, il regorge d’anecdotes locales à partager. Merci de votre visite!

L’amitié et l’esprit sportif

Gend. Scott Lowe et tudiant

Afin de renforcer les liens entre la Première Nation crie de Woodland et les jeunes de Peace River, des membres du détachement de Peace River ont organisé un défi de hockey-balle entre trois écoles. Le gend. Scott Lowe a demandé aux étudiants des écoles Cadotte Lake, Glenmary et Good Shepherd de participer à la compétition, qui a eu lieu les 27 et 28 mai 2015. Pour donner une saveur culturelle à l’évènement, deux étudiants de l’école Cadotte Lake ont donné le coup d’envoi en chantant « Ô Canada » en cri.

Le défi avait pour thèmes l’amitié et l’esprit sportif et son but était d’encourager des partenariats sains entre les écoles. Les évènements de ce genre sont organisés afin d’inculquer l’esprit scolaire chez les jeunes de la Première Nation crie de Woodland.

Pendant la compétition, un joueur de chaque équipe a reçu le prix de l’esprit sportif pour avoir mis en pratique les valeurs rattachées à l’esprit sportif. Bien que certains joueurs aient mérité une reconnaissance individuelle pour leurs efforts hors pair, tous les participants ont démontré ces valeurs, ont fait preuve d’excellentes aptitudes et ont déployé des efforts énormes. À la fin de la deuxième soirée, le gend. Lowe a remis des plaques à chaque école pour souligner la compétition.

Nous remercions sincèrement la famille Goreman du restaurant Subway de Peace River, qui a offert le souper aux étudiants, ainsi qu’à tous les membres du personnel qui ont aidé le gend. Lowe à rendre.

Pour plus de renseignements sur nos services de police autochtones, visitez l’adresse http://www.rcmp-grc.gc.ca/aboriginal-autochtone/index-fra.htm.

Un prix de la justice communautaire

Cpl. Howrish - Un prix de la justice communautaire

Le ministre de la Justice et Solliciteur général de l'Alberta a récompensé l’un des nôtres pour son dévouement sans relâche envers la communauté de Cold Lake. Le 5 juin 2015, le caporal Howrish du détachement de Cold Lake a reçu un prix de la justice communautaire. Ce prix souligne son dévouement et ses méthodes innovatrices en matière de sensibilisation et de prévention de la violence familiale.

Le cap. Howrish anime l’initiative A Better Way depuis 2013. Ce programme multiorganisme et holistique est destiné aux résidents et résidentes de Cold Lake qui sont aux prises avec la violence familiale. Il permet aux participants d’acquérir les compétences et les renseignements nécessaires pour résoudre leurs conflits interpersonnels.

Les collègues du cap. Howrish et les participants au programme s’entendent pour dire que son leadership et son engagement jouent un rôle de taille dans le succès continu de cette initiative.

Pour plus de renseignements sur l’initiative A Better Way, visitez l’adresse www.coldlake.com/content/better-way (en anglais seulement).