Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Operational Communications Centre

Operational Communications Centre

911

Behind the Frontline:
911 Know your Role

911

Behind the Frontline:
911 Answer the Call


Before calling 911

  • What is your location? Do you know the address or can you give driving instructions? 
  • Are you, or the person you are with, severely injured?
  • Is this a life or death situation?
  • Who is involved?  Where are they?  Are there weapons involved?

REMEMBER: 

  • Deactivated cell phones can still call 911. Remove the battery from old devices.
  • Unregistered cell phones can still call 911. Geolocation data usually provides a 30 km search area.
  • If you dial 911 in error, please remain on the line and do not hang up.

The Operational Communications Centre (OCC) provides critical operational support  to RCMP officers in the field.  The OCC is the first point of contact for the public requesting police assistance in both emergency and non-urgent matters. In Alberta there are two provincial OCCs: Edmonton and Red Deer. These centres provide support to 136 detachments and satellite offices throughout Alberta’s RCMP communities including Alberta Sheriffs (traffic units) and various municipal police agencies, 24 hours a day, 365 days of the year.

Alberta OCCs receive an average of 2,500 calls a day; evenings and weekends being the busiest times. Operators receive calls, enter information in computer systems and evaluate what services are required. Dispatchers then send the information onto officers as quickly as possible, ensuring priority is placed on public and officer safety. To expedite calls, and to dispatch officers as quickly as possible, it is important  for members of the public to have key information available when calling.

Location is an important piece of information when calling 911. Without an exact address or landmark, geolocation data from mobile devices can only provide a general location, usually only providing officers a 30 km radius of where the call is coming from. This can greatly increase the amount of time it takes for an officer to locate someone who maybe be in distress.

During regular business hours, 8 a.m. – 4 p.m. Monday to Friday, we request that you contact your local detachment for the following:

  • Updates to current files
  • Non-injury motor vehicle accidents
  • Property crimes not in progress
  • All other non-emergency situations

A career as an OCC telecommunications operator is an exceptionally rewarding career path within an organization that thrives on helping others.  Telecommunications Operators are expected to make quick, responsible decisions in their role as the “lifeline” to the police officer in the field and to members of the public that are often caught in emergency situations.   The RCMP offers an extensive training period to their OCC employees  in both the classroom and on the job to ensure all operators have the experience, techniques and knowledge base to help make quick decisions.  They graduate having successfully completed the National Telecommunication Operator Training and Field Coach programs. A telecommunications career is a rewarding profession completed by individuals that put public and community safety at the forefront every day of the year. 

For information on joining our OCC team please visit www.jobs.gc.ca

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

La GRC en Alberta - Station de transmissions opérationnelles

911 operator

911 operator

En coulisses :
911 Connaît ton rôle

911 operator

En coulisses :
911 Répond à l’appel


Avant de composer le 911

  • Quel est votre emplacement?
  • Êtes-vous gravement blessé ou la personne que vous accompagnez est-elle gravement blessée?
  • Est-ce une situation de vie ou de mort?
  • Qui est impliqué? Où sont-elles? Y at-il des armes impliquées ?

Rappelles Toi 

  • Un téléphone cellulaire non activé peut quand même faire un appel au 911. 
  • Les données de géolocalisation fournissent habituellement un rayon de recherche de 30 kilomètres.
  • Si vous composez le 911 par erreur, ne raccrochez pas.

La Station de transmissions opérationnelles (STO) offre un soutien opérationnel essentiel aux policiers de la GRC sur le terrain. La STO est le premier point de contact pour les membres du public qui demandent l’aide de la police dans des situations urgentes et non urgentes. En Alberta, il y a une STO à Edmonton et une STO à Red Deer. Ces stations offrent un soutien à 136 détachements et bureaux satellites sur le territoire de la GRC en Alberta, y compris les shérifs de l'Alberta (groupes de la sécurité routière) et divers services de police municipaux 24 heures sur 24 et à longueur d’année.

Les STO de l’Alberta reçoivent en moyenne 800 appels par jour et sont particulièrement sollicitées le soir et la fin de semaine. Les opérateurs reçoivent les appels, saisissent les renseignements dans les systèmes informatiques et évaluent les services qu’il faut fournir. Les répartiteurs transmettent les renseignements aux policiers dans les plus brefs délais en accordant la priorité à la sécurité du public et des policiers. Pour accélérer les appels et répartir les policiers dans les plus brefs délais, il est important que les membres du public disposent des renseignements nécessaires lorsqu’ils appellent.

Il est important de préciser son emplacement lorsqu’on compose le 911. En l’absence d’une adresse exacte ou d’un repère, les données de géolocalisation des appareils mobiles peuvent uniquement fournir un emplacement général dans un rayon de 30 kilomètres de l’appel. Ceci peut considérablement augmenter le temps qu’il faut à un policier pour trouver une personne en détresse.

Pendant les heures de bureau normales (de 8 h à 16 h du lundi au vendredi), veuillez communiquer avec votre détachement local dans les situations suivantes :

  • Mises à jour de dossiers
  • Collisions entre des véhicules motorisés sans blessés
  • Crimes non de la propriété en cours
  • Toutes les autres situations non urgentes

Les opérateurs des télécommunications de la STO mènent une carrière exceptionnellement enrichissante au sein d’une organisation qui a pour mission d’aider les autres. Ils doivent prendre des décisions rapides et responsables à titre de lien essentiel avec les policiers sur le terrain et les membres du public qui sont souvent aux prises avec des situations urgentes. La GRC offre une longue période de formation en classe et en cours d’emploi aux employés de la STO pour s’assurer que tous les opérateurs acquièrent l’expérience, les techniques et les connaissances nécessaires pour prendre des décisions rapides. Les candidats à ce poste doivent réussir le Programme de formation nationale pour les opérateurs de télécommunications et le Programme de formation pratique de la STO. Une carrière en télécommunications est une profession enrichissante pour les personnes qui accordent la priorité à la sécurité du public et de la communauté tout au long de l’année.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur une carrière au sein de notre équipe des STO, visitez le site www.emplois.gc.ca.